Design Wall Monday….er…Sunday…….

To get my focus off the high water I started a little kit I had recently purchased from Connecting Threads…..on “super sale”! The additional 20% off brought the price for the kit to $9.54……..great!!! and simple!!!!! A photo from the catalog…………………………

It’s a 3 pc table topper done with fusible web. Just 2 colors. All the fabric needed for the top and binding (plus extra) is included in the kit.  How hard can it be?? Simple does not always equal easy/quick/etc. The “putsy” level was almost a 10! First off, figuring out how to enlarge one of the templates 200% on my printer took way too long!!! LOL! Then the freezer paper and fusible came out and off I went…………………… Connecting Threads...3 pc runner 002        

I had it all pin basted and then decided to do a machine blanket stitch around the pieces, rather than a straight stitch (with the batting/backing). So unpinning all, I headed for the Bernina. It’s been way too long since I used this machine but she was definitely agreeable!

Connecting Threads...3 pc runner 003 

I haven’t exactly decided how I’m going to quilt this yet but simple is better for this little project. So, this afternoon I will complete the edge stitching, pin baste it again and head for Ms Sweetie (HQ Sweet 16) to see what fun will result! Stay tuned………………

Another catalog shot…………………………………………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Design Wall Monday….er…Sunday…….

  1. Hi Doreen, It’s beautiful and what a bargain!! I do wish I had a machine that could do other than straight and zig-zag stitches. Your blanket stitches are lovely. Looking forward to seeing the quilting. Hugs 🙂

  2. rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary b here:
    Well, this is very cute. I love it. You are so good (I want my old life life back 😛 )
    I think this was a bargain. I can see how you could make this again with some really jazzy fabrics, for example, Batiks!
    happy Sunday, Doreen

  3. KerryCan says:

    Fortunate are those of us who have a craft to turn to when the going gets rough . . .

  4. Michele says:

    It is pretty though.

  5. Very pretty. I do like the blanket stitch. I have a lot of nice stitches and really haven’t tried them out. Must experiment…

  6. Saskia says:

    This is beautiful! And please send some of your rain our way, we really need it!

  7. Thread crazy says:

    What a cute table runner….love it. I do so love using those fancy stitches on my machine. Always surprises me when I get to looking at them, just how little I actually use them!! lol Anxious to see the finished product.

  8. ivoryspring says:

    Love love love this!!! You are very clever in your design!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Well thank you so much! In the post I did state that “simpler is better” but…….well, the 3 pieces are densely McTavished/feathered on the tone-on-tone background which really resulted in the spokes/blades and the other 2 central shapes on the rectangular portion to “pop”. Binding tomorrow to finish…….post to follow very soon. I’m so glad you had a second to drop by!!!!!! Hugs………………..SSAB

Leave a Reply

