A new arrival………….

To my studio. It’s not anything too major……..wait……yes, it is! It’s this little “number”…………..Leah's door banner 002   Really?? It doesn’t appear to be that special!!! I mean, it has a heat selector…….Leah's door banner 004   But, don’t all irons have one??????? Well, yes.

And it has a selector guide………….Leah's door banner 005   OK. So, what’s the big deal?????!!!!!!

It’s this…………………………..Leah's door banner 003  Notice anything missing????? Yup, the steam holes! That’s because it’s a dry iron !!!! Smooth, slippery, nothing to ‘catch’ on those bunches of seam allowances that all come together at the center of so many of my favorite piecings. The heat is wonderful, the weight is perfect (I do not like those “fly weight” irons that have no ‘heft’ to them!!!!), and there are no holes to catch and press unwanted creases in those multi-pieced tops/flimsys. I ordered it off Amazon…….the only convenient source I could find…….and have been using it for several weeks. Excellent investment!!!! And for $25, I feel, it’s a good buy, hmmm? Sometimes it takes so little to amuse me!!!!

Til next time……………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A new arrival………….

  1. Yes, it’s good to have a simple sense of humor. 😉

    I remember you’d said you don’t use steam, so I knew what you were up to before you revealed the mystery. I like steam but to each her own. What IS important is the right weight. Too heavy and an iron can strain the shoulder and elbow. Too light and .. why bother? Yes, you need some weight to it.

    I’m glad you found just what you wanted!

  2. Linda Cornwell says:

    Do you hum “The Continental” while ironing??? 😎

    xo Linda

  3. Hmmm….I never used an iron without steam for pressing my seams. But you do have a valid point the heavier the iron…you don’t even need steam!

    • treadlemusic says:

      For any moisture needed, a spritz of water/”Best Press”/or damp press cloth does the trick. The iron is medium sized but very nice weight to it! I’m so glad you stopped by!!!!! Hugs…..

  4. Thread crazy says:

    I have a steam iron but don’t use it with steam. Instead I use a water bottle when I need some steam. Also I do not care for a heavy iron – causes my hands to ache a bit. Glad you found a good iron….I’ll have to remember your next time I need one!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The price is certainly right!!! I stepped away from having the steam/water reservoir on my Rowenta when I had my sewing business and was pressing satins. A drop of water accidentally dripped from a steam hole would have been disaster. Now, I found that those indentations “caught” on seam junctions when ironing (worked fine when I “pressed”, although there were marks left where the holes were.).

  5. jennyklyon says:

    Now that’s a keeper! I want an iron that has a “scorch” setting!

  6. rosemarazzle says:

    That is a snazzy iron. It is hard to find a good one these days… all made in China.
    I wish you many many happy days of productivity with that fancy hot flat thing.
    I do not use steam either, also a spray bottle with distilled H2O.
    Ironing is a good work out…. well, you can use some muscle power smashing the seams and making flat items
    Happy Tuesday

  7. KerryCan says:

    I love my no-steam iron for all the reasons you stated! Plus, I bought mine at a garage sale for $1 so there’s even more reason to love it! It gets hotter, too, than my fancy, expensive iron–it’s all good!

  8. Now, where is my iron? Hmmm, maybe in the closet.

    So glad you found a great deal on a product you really like.

  9. LB says:

    You deserve a new toy (even though it’s a toy to be productive with!)

  10. witchylin says:

    I use one of those tiny mini irons for getting into seams and spots where lots of fabric join. While it does not have any weight apart from the pressure I put on it there is no catching. I can see that your new iron would be perfect for quilting. My mini does not get too hot and sometimes extra heat is needed so out comes the steam iron without steam. Not so successful.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Exactly my assessment of travel/smaller irons. The heat doesn’t seem to be there……this one is mid weight and really hot on the highest setting. We’ll see how long this one lasts.

  11. Michele says:

    Very interesting. I’m going to keep that in mind. I’m not sure how much longer my current one will survive. I do have a backup that I won at MQX but…

  12. Great machine, i should dig out my 1955 iron…I think it has no holes too. I love the might of it too!
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      I have an old one (wedding gift/still works!) that is a “boat anchor”!!!!!! I like this one as it has enough, but not too much, heft. Searching for the right iron can certainly be ongoing!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

