The next project………..

In the stack that’s facing me, is the 3 piece table topper I posted about here. I thought I would tackle the smaller projects before launching into the multiple quilts all sandwiched and ready to go. An hour of play and I have this…………Leah's door banner 010

Leah's door banner 011

I had thought I would be using a metallic thread on the background but with the “movement” and density of the stitching (“McTavishing”??), I opted for a 70wt poly in a matching off-white tone. The binding will be the blue print.  Onward to the other half circle and main portion.  Stay tuned………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The next project………..

  1. Absolutely gorgeous. I love it!

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s very different than other projects I’ve done. I thing it falls into the new category of “low volume” (meaning an equal, low intensity of color fabric used so that none stands out as a focus but all blend equally). Also, the fusible part of it is something I don’t usually do. Although I seem to do a bit of raw-edge applique, It’s only for accent not the total pattern. This one has some other-season possibilities. I so appreciate your kind words!!!! Glad you “popped” in!!!!!! Hugs……………

  2. Enjoy riding the merry-go-round, which is what this piece reminds me of.

  3. JoAnn says:

    Love it. The quilting is amazing.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The stitching is fun….but I have to dim the machine light and put the “goose-neck” light low so there are shadows to see where I’ve quilted. Debated whether to use the off-white thread or something that would show. The last would be in too much ‘competition’ with the fabric prints, so opted for the disappearing ecru!!!!!

  4. jennyklyon says:

    Beautiful and a good call on the thread choice!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much…….I really needed that confirmation. I was just looking at that stitching and wondering if it was the appropriate choice!!!! Hugs………………….

  5. witchylin says:

    The thread is the perfect choice. Anything else would have detracted from the coloured fabric. as you said. I love the texture of the cream fabric now it is quilted. A really ‘different’ finish. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you for your “confirmation” of my choice. I do take such to heart!! Once again, the stitching makes such an immense difference!!! Can’t wait to start on the rest of it (but will have to wait til maybe tomorrow….busy day today). Hugs………..

  6. KerryCan says:

    I think the white-on-white effect is perfect for the overall look–it’s subtle and elegant, which fits with the “low volume” approach! Lovely!

  7. LB says:

    Such a beautiful result for an hour of play 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much!!!! That type of stitching is more fun when there aren’t so many appliques to avoid/sew around!!! It was a bit more of a challenge than I anticipated, surprisingly!!! I am pleased with the subtle results, though. Hugs to you!!!!!

  8. Thread crazy says:

    It looks absolutely gorgeous. I would never have thought to use a 70wt thread. Looks wonderful.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I use this thread a lot. It gives wonderful texture w/o the thread build-up. It’s fine enough to sink into the fabric but not so fine that it disappears (like a 100 wt does). It’s poly so there’s next to no lint…….an additional ‘perk’!!! Hope to work on this one today and, hopefully, get it done. Several other pieces waiting “in the wings”!!!! LOL! Hugs………..

Leave a Reply

