The next “door banner”…….

For my elderly friend, Leah, (who resides in a long-term care facility in the nearby town) is done and has the appropriate theme for the upcoming month (is July really that close?????)…….Leah's door banner 009

Leah's door banner 007

Leah's door banner 008

A peak at the back (above).

Leah's door banner 006  The fabrics are from my stash and the metallic thread is Rheingold by Madeira.

  The summer is flying by so fast!!!! Are you keeping up?? Maybe even “ahead of the game”?????

Previous posts showing door hangers/banners I’ve made for Leah may be found here, here, here, here, and here. You get the idea, I’m sure.

Til next time…………………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The next “door banner”…….

  1. Karen says:

    Sweet! So very simple and meaningful. Love the quilting AND thread! Cheers! Karen

  2. rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary b here:
    Happy Friday Doreen.
    I always read your blog and adventures, Not always time to comment, but I love everything you share. I want to make these type of banners for my mom and dad’s apartment door when they move to the retirement prison hahaha
    ONE MONTH until the move and I can’t wait.
    and NO I am not keeping up.
    This is adorable, I love all of your ideas. You are very creative and you inspire me

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am so glad you find my ramblings of worth. When it comes time for such a move, it’s so difficult to find those special things to do for our loved ones that don’t become “clutter” down the road because of their limited environment. At the end of the month I replace the banner/hanging and bring it home to be placed in a plastic tote labeled with her name. When the appropriate month comes up in a year I will retrieve the needed item once more. However, Leah has yet to allow me to remove her Christmas stocking from her room!!! It hangs on the wall near the floral wall quilt I made years ago!!!! Some things are too treasured to be put away!!!! I’m always thrilled when you stop by!!!!! Hugs comin’ at ya!!!…………………….

  3. catpatches says:

    Great quilting design. Love it.

  4. You are such a blessing to your friend Leah, Doreen. Now that my mom is living in assisted living, I realize how much something like this means to folks who are no longer in their own homes. Let me repeat. You are a blessing. To so many, may I add.

  5. Jackie says:

    This is so cool Doreen, What a blessing for your friend to have these special door banners.

    • treadlemusic says:

      She really does enjoy them and it helps her to better define the passing of the days (months). After a while it is difficult to keep track of the exact day/date. So glad you stopped by!!!! Hugs………………..

  6. witchylin says:

    Leah will certainly appreciate the banners and the work and love that goes into them. Why take the Christmas stocking down? If it makes her smile then it is doing its job.

  7. KerryCan says:

    It is amazingly kind and generous of you to make these banners–but I know you are rewarded by your friend’s happiness!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I canNOT imagine being in one room with so very few relatives alive at this time and a son/wife who lives several hundreds of miles away with little desire to visit. Sigh………………..your comment is very much my heart feelings. Hugs……………………….

  8. Michele says:

    Really awesome. I’m sure she will love it.

  9. LB says:

    This is so festive for July. The stars are a really neat pop of color. How long does it take you to do one of these banners?

    • treadlemusic says:

      It depends. The July banner is just 2 strips of fabrics sewn together with the 3 stars fused/appliqued (raw edge) on and quilted/bound. Maybe a couple of hours(not quite) for that one. Most take 2-3 hours at most. It takes longer to put my studio back together after pulling everything out!!!!! LOL!!!!!

  10. Thread crazy says:

    Doreen – what a great gift for Leah; she’s going to be thrilled when she sees it. I love those stars – hopefully they’ll remind her of July 4th fireworks! Your quilting is gorgeous also…always is!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Your kind words are much appreciated. The stitching motif is one of the first I started doing and has become one that can be adapted/combined with so many others as a total ‘fill’. The texture it creates is so nice. When stitching with either a DSM or fixed/stationary long-arm, the biggest challenge is evenness of the stitching for a nice overall finish and this motif allows me to achieve this. I’m so glad you stopped by!!!!!!

  11. Summer, summer, summer??? Oh boy, we have to work for two more weeks… It is grey and cold(ish) outside….
    The weather will get better by the end of the week… And it is JUST two more weeks of work… YAY! 🙂
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yay! This has been the oddest of summer days yet!!! The storms/rains continue over much of the US and the river (Mississippi) is still running at flood levels! “Normal” is truly a setting on your dryer and not applicable to life at the moment!!!! LOL!!!!!

  12. The banner looks wonderful Doreen! Your friend will love it!
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      Delivering it to her on this Wednesday in time for the July festivities. Around here so far all celebrations/events that had fireworks displays scheduled have had to cancel due to storms. Will be curious to see what the next month will bring!!!!!!! Hugs…………………………………

Leave a Reply

