CHROME ALERT!!!!!!

Yes, I know this is a quilter’s blog but this quilter has many facets/interests. You know about a lot of them but one that has probably not come to light just yet is my love of big trucks!!!!! Yup. Several decades(!) ago, DH was a long haul trucker and our lives were on a very fluid schedule….subject to his comings and goings. We owned 3 trucks (with a friend of ours) and diesel fumes seem to permeate everything! Fast forward to last Friday and a truck show that was held at a LaCrosse (WI) dealership which brought together an array of multi-thousand dollar vehicles, many were “created” for show purposes exclusively!!!! So, if you are not enamored of tons of chrome on big rigs, come back tomorrow for a totally/180 degree out post!!!! Hehehehe!!!

Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 076   Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 077

Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 026Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 027 

A lot of cleaning/shining/”spit shining” goin’ on before the judges appeared with their clipboards!!!!!

Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 031 Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 030Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 032Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 033Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 034

Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 041 Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 043

Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 046 Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 047

Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 049 Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 052

Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 051

Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 053Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 054Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 055

Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 059Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 058

Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 064 Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 066

Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 069 Connecting Threads 3 pc table topper 070

OK, I do have more pix but………this is enough for this go ‘round, hmmmm? Maybe the next time it’ll be bikes!!!!! Anyhow……..til next time……………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to CHROME ALERT!!!!!!

  1. KerryCan says:

    I can’t say that I share this enthusiasm but I can tell the trucks must’ve been impressive! Glad you had such fun!

  2. Gloria says:

    I’m sure Butch would have enjoyed looking over all those “big rigs”.
    Any news on the camping situation?

    • treadlemusic says:

      The latest is, maybe, a couple of weeks. There’s still 2.5’+ of water over our campsite (and at least 1.5′ over the highest sites!!!!). It needs to go down and dry out and be cleaned up. Things are moving slowly…………..

  3. JoAnn says:

    Love them. Bet Tom was in 7th heaven. I really like the purple one. My dad was and my brother still is a trucker. Know that life.

  4. Beth Ann says:

    I love those trucks!!! And I have great respect for truck drivers. They are a rare breed for sure. Thanks for sharing the chrome today!

  5. These are some beautiful trucks! Thank you for sharing!

  6. I’m impressed by all that shine, all those colors. I bet DH was in his glory right beside you. Trucks, like any other vehicle, are art in their own right. That’s how I view them when I have camera in hand.

  7. Every artistic life needs balance and lots of outside interests to inspire the artistic part, so I think you should feel free to show your other interests whenever they strike you! 🙂 I also think a quilt based on these trucks would be unique and beautiful. You’ve done one from shot bags, maybe this is the next step in the progression!

  8. Thread crazy says:

    Enjoyed the view today…I do pass a lot of these trucks headed for and coming back from the border. Some of the chrome on these rigs really shines. After driving our motorhome (which I so enjoy doing), I too developed a respect for these truckers. Thanks for sharing…

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are entirely welcome. I know there are many who don’t share a positive attitude toward these rigs on the roads but, also, don’t stop to think that our lives would be negatively impacted if they weren’t ‘out there’!!!

  9. witchylin says:

    Brilliant. As you know my other half is a trucker so I was very interested in seeing your collection of truck pictures. He will be too when he returns home on Friday night.
    Of courses you can post pictures like this, it is YOUR blog and you can do whatever you like. 😉
    It will be a one time visit to a quilters blog by Gary. 🙂

  10. witchylin says:

    i mean just a dog at home not Gary as a dog. 🙂 Stop digging Lin you are getting into a bigger hole. 😉

  11. Oh my goodness… no wonder we connected so well… love me a truck. When I slept in my vehicle while travelling I always parked closest to the diesel side of the truck stop so I could feel and hear them all night. I love the Pete’s of the yellow body style… my cousin and I made m&m designs one year (I was 14) – she made a horse, I made a Pete. 🙂 Smiles……………………

  12. LB says:

    I’m not sure I’ve ever seen such pretty trucks!
    You are such an interesting woman and have led such a varied life. Love it!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The phrase “life’s an adventure, filled with many different chapters” is the phrase/motto that DH and I have found that describes how our days go. We have gone many directions over the years, with planned goals/visions but leaving the details for the Lord to take care of. It’s not been dull….that’s for sure!!!! I’m thrilled you enjoyed this post……a bit different but in keeping with my journaling thoughts for this blog. Hugs………………………….

  13. Amy says:

    I spent 6 years driving truck with my hubby!

  14. Sartenada says:

    This is awesome post. What a great collection of trucks! Is there habit to paint pictures on them? Here in Finland there are few cases, but it is not so “popular”.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It is a matter of pride among those who own their own trucks (and trailers). Very very costly to have done. Adding the shiny chrome accessories is very common, though.

Leave a Reply

