“Squishy” packages…………

Coming in the mail are the best!!! My friend, Annie, at The Bakery Fabrics (Belle Fourche,SD) had teased me (and many others!) with these last week……..so, as I mentioned to a bloggy friend, since going to a ‘brick and mortar’ quilt shop is something I try not to do cuz I’m weak willed, the ‘puter will feed my addiction just fine…sigh! 001  These now reside in my studio patiently awaiting  a metamorphosis into a garden flower themed lap quilt for my dear friend, Leah, who resides in a local long term care facility. The quilt I made for her years ago has definitely seen better days and the in-house laundry, although they were careful, has zapped the color from it.

The fabrics are “Sausalito Cottage” by Holly Holderman for Lake House Dry Goods. There are other prints in the line but I thought I must be able to find something in my stash to round out and add to the 1 yard cuts. And my stash came through for me once again…..yay!!!!! A several yards piece of green from Connecting Threads “Mirage” line called “Sapling” (below, extreme left) is a wonderful green and……and……..pieces left from my Stained Glass quilt (center) fit the bill perfectly!!!!!!!! Awesome!!!!! 003   

I have no idea of a pattern yet (wonder what my dreams will be tonight??!!??) but I’m thinking that I would like to leave the fabric in larger shapes so that Leah can easily see the beautiful petals and flower sprigs.

To be continued………………………………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to “Squishy” packages…………

  1. Gloria says:

    These are such pretty fabrics, Doreen. I’m sure the new lap quilt will bring a smile to her face, you are a very kind person.

  2. rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary B here:
    These are really really pretty.
    Oooh now I can’t wait to see what you do — uh, no pressure 😛

  3. Thread crazy says:

    Oh what beautiful fabrics…love the hydrangeas..gorgeous colors and should brighten her room (or yours) wonderfully. What about the “Take Five” pattern – just a thought as it has those 5 larger pieces… If it’s too long, just shorten it by a row! Just a thought.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Duh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great idea!!! I guess I didn’t even think of that one. Using the 4 prints plus that green solid will give it a different look (and there are other choices for block arrangement I can play with when I get to the design wall phase!!!). Have some chores to do this morning but may try to get it cut out later today. You are brilliant!!!!!! Hugs……………………….

  4. Fiona says:

    gorgeous fabrics….have fun…. I look forward to seeing what you make with them…
    Hugz

    • treadlemusic says:

      I have an idea/thought……compliments of KrisR……..and I hope to have it “gelled” later today or tomorrow. Glad you could stop by!!!!!! Hugs………………

  5. What a bundle of joy! I totally understand your love for these fabrics!!!
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m not much of a dig-in-the-dirt kind of gardener but I sure love those florals!!!!!! I think there are more different fabric prints out there right now than ever before!!!!!!! It’s a good thing I/we have ‘puters to do our shopping, hmmm?? We couldn’t possibly get to all the shops that carry such diversity!!!!! LOL!

  6. Teje says:

    Looks beautiful Doreen! Lovely colours and I love flower prints! Have a great week! x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      I know you would have a delightful piecing idea for these! I think another “Take 5” piecing is the direction I’m going to go (I don’t want to cut up these beauties very much). Thank you for your visit and comment, dear Med. Friend!!!!! Hugs…..

  7. witchylin says:

    Such lovely fabrics. I do agree with you. Leaving the shapes, whatever you decide, larger will be the perfect way to make this a happy summer quilt. One that will make Leah smile. 🙂

  8. KerryCan says:

    I can’t think of a nicer gift for someone in Leah’s situation–bringing the outdoors in to her with a garden quilt! I’ll look forward to seeing this progress!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Precisely! She always loved her garden areas and flowers (and her hubby had lily gardens that “went on forever”, so I imagine she remembers those, also.). Hugs……..

  9. mtetar says:

    Oh wow sooooo pretty. I look forward to your next project with them. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  10. I absolutely adore these prints and hues. So lovely.

    I’ve said it before, but it bears repeating. What a blessing you are to your dear friend Leah.

  11. Carol H says:

    There was a free pattern years ago called Covent Garden which featured an on point square with different lattice around it. Made for a beautiful and easy quilt. I made several.
    If you are interested, please let me know and I’ll send you the pattern.

  12. ohhhhh love what you put with them. I have kept them right by my counter so I can enjoy them…..those hydrangea petals are just so beautiful. Thank you

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’ve got so many ideas/suggestions for patterns. I will have it settled and cut out in a day or so!!!! Thanks again, my sweet Friend!!!!! Hugs…………….

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes, it most definitely is!!! There are many such beauties “out there” and I just can’t say no when I come across them!!!! My stash is threatening to take over!!! LOL!!!!!! So glad you stopped by for a visit and comment! Please, come again………….hugs……..Doreen

  13. So pretty! I have some hydrangea fabrics from their earlier lines in my stash waiting for the perfect project. Love them.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh, Deb……..I just went digging in my stash and realized that I had made a quilt for my Mom from and earlier, more blue version (with some of the coordinates)!!!! I have some of it left and may use it with anything I have left from this one!!! I guess my fabric tastes haven’t changed…..LOL!!!! I think I may just have to do a quick post on this one!!!!! Thanks for jogging my memory!!!!! LOL!

  14. LB says:

    At the end of the year, I’d love to see a post with all of Leah’s door pieces shown together (how demanding am I?). Gorgeous fabrics!

  15. Michele says:

    Pretty, pretty. Those lovelies will make a beautiful quilt.

Leave a Reply

