It’s Hoedown!!!!!!

Yup….that’s our annual town celebration. A few photos (very few…..I’ll explain later)………039  Entrance to the Fest Grounds, site of the tractor pull on Saturday and the horse pull on Sunday also the spot to be if you enjoy live music.066069

The soap box derby. This event drew our boys in immediately……30+ yrs. ago!…..and resulted in many items coming up with missing wheels and other miscellaneous parts!!!!!051

052057

058059 

Please, notice in the 2 photos above….same car…different family member!!! 054   And it wouldn’t be a competition without trophies!!!!! Yay!!!! 060   Royalty: Queen Josie (on right) and runner-up Gabby (on left). Super sweet gals!!!  046  World famous Hoedown brats!!! No kidding!!! The recipe for the preparation method is a closely guarded secret!!!!!045                      I wonder where that bite went????????

044040043042

A tribute to our vets in one corner of the park.

072073078A little chain saw art.076

Wait…….who is this???????079

It looks like DH has found a buddy!!!!!!!

And it wouldn’t be Hoedown without kettlecorn!!!!!!080

There were so many other events that went undocumented by this photographer cuz I was up to my elbows in dishwater!!!048 Again this year, DH and I helped our son and daughter in law at their convenience store located in the heart of downtown Houston (that’s MN not TX!!!!!). Our son smoked a whole hog and the pulled pork sandwiches were sold almost faster than they could be made!!! Alert!!!! The next photo may be offensive to some of you (you know who you are!!)………………….062

It’s just what we do here!!!!

081    Sunday morning found many of us in the park for the country Gospel music of Gary Froiland. The weather was perfect! The parade at noon went off without a ‘hitch’, so I was told……….yup, dishpan for me. Sorry no photos…..maybe next year!!!!!

Have a great weekend and enjoy these waning summer days (ooops!!!! did I really say “waning”???? sigh….)

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to It’s Hoedown!!!!!!

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I am in denial. The days are not waning. No way. We have had such beautiful weather the past week –almost, dare I say—fall like. Looks like the Hoedown is a wonderful event! Love pig roasts!!!

  2. rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary B here:
    Oh my, Doreen. This is so different than living in Northern Virginia 35 miles west of the Cesspool.
    Waaaay different.
    I do not we have a county fair this month (can you believe it is August already?)
    This looked like a blast. I hope you wore your long rubber gloves for the washing of the dishes.
    The hog is kinda gross, but hey this is how it is done. Yes, it did make me feel a bit like throwing up, but then I used to be a surgical nurse, and have seen plenty plenty plenty of gore that does not make me flinch anymore (use to in nursing school, those first few times…. I won’t go into detail, I could, but I wont)
    Now I am regretting not living in Houston Minnisoooota.
    I live in Loudoun County Va, the fastest growing county (and one of the wealthiest) in the country. They nick named it the Silicon Valley of the East. This county is… the eastern part is packed with young families. Almost all tech jobs, tons. and the western part is olden timey Virginia. I love both parts.
    Happy Week-end.
    … now I want a pork sandwich!

    • rosemarazzle says:

      the second paragraph, not sure where I was going with the “I do not”… I only had one cuppa so far. Anyhoo, start that sentence off with We have a…..
      lol love the chainsaw art too and that bear, I want that bear.

  3. OK, next year be sure to alert me in advance to Houston’s Hoedown. We would love this. Randy would be especially excited about those brats. Me? I’d take one of your son’s pulled pork sandwiches as long as I don’t have to peek inside the smoker grill.

    What a fun event. Love these small town gatherings. Thank you for taking us to Houston. Minnesota. Not Texas.

    • treadlemusic says:

      LOL! Sorry I didn’t give you the “heads up”……I think we went through this same dialogue last year, too!!! My memory is definitely not what it once was!!!!! (Along with a lot of other things………)

  4. Yes, here in Houston, Texas we LONG to see the waning days of summer. We have summer from roughly April through the end of October and sometimes all year long. So if you ever need a little blast of summer, come on down! (But if you are thirsty, you will have to ask someone to take you to get a coke, not a pop.) And maybe bring some bratwurst with you! 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Different regions do have different jargon, don’t they? One must ask for a “soda” in some places to get a ‘pop’ but around here a soda is something with scoops of ice cream, flavoring and carbonated water! Those brats really are good! I’ll have to let you know if we head your direction this winter!!!!!!! Wouldn’t that be a super “meet-up”???

      • You do need to come to Texas – but there are a lot better places to go than Houston – the people are very nice, but the traffic there is horrendous! If you ever do think of coming here, be sure and let me know and I will help you plan a wonderful itinerary for your interests.

  5. Jeanne says:

    What a neat celebration! We also live in small town America. The festivals are the best. I love the kids’ events and the food!

  6. ivoryspring says:

    Love the post. Glad to see the veterans memorial.

  7. Thread crazy says:

    Soap box derby used to be my favorite as a kid….and I do agree on soda! Yes, that’s with ice cream!! Now guess it’s that wee bit of northern blood still in me, but I still call it “pop”!! As far as the waning days of summer…we have a bit of cloud cover today so that makes me long for October! Yes, October…cooler temperatures. Once I see “pumpkins, I know cooler weather is not far behind. Have a great weekend – hugs to you too!

Leave a Reply

