With a little help from a “friend”…..a finish……..

The felt door hanger/banner is complete and         was made with the help of this machine……………IMG_1582 It’s my trusty needle-felting machine. I bought this cutie years ago after doing the needle-felting with a hand-held wooden holder that accommodated up to 6 needles. May I say it was a huge improvement over the single needle approach I started this technique with before that!! This machine holds up to 5 needles and “punches” the fibers from the top layer through to the next layer(s) locking them together. This eliminates the need for pins, etc, when doing wool penny rugs/pieces that have pieces I want to edge with a perle cotton blanket stitch. No pins to catch my threads…..awesome. A view of this machine’s needle set-up……..IMG_1581  I only have 3 needles in it at the moment, though. The machine is made by Husqvarna and was gotten before I purchased my Bernina 440QE. I know that the new Bernina models have such an accessory available BUT, believe me, you do not want to have all that fuzz/lint getting into a machine that is that expensive!!!!!! This one has a little clean-out lint drawer and that’s it for moving parts…..no need for any type of bobbin, etc, cuz there’s no thread!!!! I believe the cost of this machine was less than the Bernina accessory……something to think about….eh? Anyhow, on to the “finish”…….IMG_1584             And a close-up of the ‘bling’……IMG_1585 The binding was some of the batik that I had left from my, yup-again!, “Stained Glass” quilt (https://treadlemusic.wordpress.com/2014/03/22/stained-glass-a-finish/). The strips had been cut at 2”, less than I would have liked for this piece’s thickness, so I press/folded the binding less than 1/2….IMG_1583 For added interest, I, also, trimmed the banner’s 4 corners at a         45 degree angle. I think it adds a bit….don’t you??? One final photo and then on to finishing Leah’s quilt……..IMG_1586

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to With a little help from a “friend”…..a finish……..

  1. Gloria says:

    Pardon my ignorance but which part of the banner was needle felted? Love the “bling”, the whole thing is so darn cute!

    • treadlemusic says:

      All of the sunflower pieces were needle felted to the background piece of felt. I did a primitive-type running stitch in the stem/leaves for “looks” only as the pieces were already secured. The beads were hand applied, background flowers were machine quilted and before I applied the binding I used the needle felting machine to secure all 3 layers at the edges rather than pinning then I machine stitched the binding on. Done!!! I really like this finish, too!!!!!

  2. Jackie says:

    This is just TOO CUTE, thanks for sharing your art work 🙂

  3. mtetar says:

    Very Nice can I placed my order? Blessings Always, Mtetar

  4. witchylin says:

    It looks really neat Doreen. I love needle felting but do it with the hand held wooden needle holder. Have needle felted a couple of shoulder bags, I am sure Leah will love her new door hanger.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Doing the needle felting by hand worked well for me. This machine works as a “basting” machine, holding the felt pieces in place w/0 pins, so I can embroider/embellish and not get my threads hung up on the pins. It also felts in things like fancy yarns that hand needle felting doesn’t seem to do very well.

  5. KerryCan says:

    I didn’t know such a machine existed! I haven’t tried needle felting (I so don’t need another craft!) but your project is very inspiring! Lucky Leah!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Sigh…..yes, there’s a machine for everything, it seems but not all are a practical purchase as the $$$ is too high. This one was under $200 and the Bernina accessory was much higher than that and, I felt, would inevitably do damage to the Bernina with the excessive lint build-up.

  6. Thread crazy says:

    Haven’t tried the “felting” process; I have seen these machines but didn’t understand process so guess now I need to check them out!!
    The door hanging turned out beautifully-great job and yes, Leah is going to love it.

  7. I had no idea a needle felting machine existed or even a machine that held more than one needle. Call today’s post a lesson from home economics.

    The door hanger is simply beautiful.

Leave a Reply

