QOV (Quilt of Valor)….#1…………

The first of 2 QOV is completely quilted and I really like it. Deciding how to quilt it was a “thinker”. A photo of the “whole”……………….001   The center is a beautiful eagle panel which I briefly contemplated doing some outline stitching to emphasize that awesome bird………but, I had second thoughts. There’s so much going on in the quilt that doing an all-over/edge to edge motif would be better suited. So then….what?? A swirly feather vine!!!003

A warning, here. This post is a tad “picture heavy”!!!!!004 

005 008

006

009 010

And a quick peek at the backing…………………..011   The threads used were Superior “Metallics” #025 Variegated Gold (40 wt) and Connecting Threads Essential Pro Poly (70 wt) in the bobbin. I have absolutely no problem quilting with any of the metallics on “Ms. Sweetie” (my HQ Sweet 16). A side note: for the most part, I do all my quilting as FMQ without prior marking. Finished size (w/o binding) is-56″x 64″.

Now, on to the 2nd stitching…………………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to QOV (Quilt of Valor)….#1…………

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Wow—amazing and beautiful and all the other words that I can’t think of right now. You are so gifted. Thanks for sharing!!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      My pleasure………it serves a dual purpose: hopefully to inspire others AND to keep me on some kind of forward moving track!!!!! LOL!!!!!! Hugs………………….

  2. rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary B here:
    This is very nice! Just beautiful, and well deserving for a brave protector of our freedoms (of which we are losing more of every day) America the Beautiful!

  3. ruthiequilts says:

    That is amazing!!! Your edge to edge quilting is superb! And for such a worthy cause!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The whole time I’m stitching I wonder who will be the recipient and praying for them and their family. The world is such a seriously dangerous place these days That motif was really a good one for this quilt. I’m also using it on another in-progress (1/2 done) quilt! So glad you stopped by for a look-see! Hugs……………..

  4. This is just stunning. I’m sure it will be much appreciated.

  5. KerryCan says:

    Did I miss a post, explaining what the QOVs are meant for? Are they displayed for veterans? Given away? Whatever–this one is spectacular!

  6. Michele says:

    It turned out great. Nicely done.

  7. You are just soaring with your quilting Doreen! I apologize for being a lousy blog pal – I haven’t been able to make it to the blogs lately!!! I love seeing your beautiful and inspiring work – these look wonderful! 🙂

  8. It’s wonderful. And yes, there’s so much going on… I’ve found that the medallions rarely should have custom quilting, because it doesn’t show anyway. So much going on.

    I’ve told you, I expect, that our son is in the Air Force. His 10-year commitment as a pilot begins the day he earns his wings, October 3. Thank you for committing your time and efforts to these quilts.

Leave a Reply

