A “Finish”!…………………

Don’tcha just love that word???? Yup, I finished Leah’s quilt (peeked at here). It’s washed, dried and all crinkly cozy! Warning….warning…..tons of photos to follow…….. 036

035 034

030 029

022

021

The backing needed to be pieced. I had ordered the large floral, bright red/pink, and hydrangea prints from my friend, Annie, whose shop (The Bakery Fabrics) is in Belle Fourche, SD. She had posted them on the Fb page and, of course, I just had to order them!!??!!!! There was an additional piece…..in the line, but didn’t quite “fit” for use on the front piecing, so on the back it went along with my stash finds~~~perfect!!!!!!037

038

031

And, finally, a full shot of the quilt front…………………………….

033

The piecing pattern was made-up simple!!! I just figured how wide I wanted the finish (approx. 55”) and the individual strips were to be 3” wide (finished) by 18” long. The difference (37”) would be the length of the green background piece. Note: this could be done with jelly roll strips. The strip width and length is up to you and your desired pattern! So, I sewed the focus fabric strip ends to the green background strip ends to form a “donut”/circle. I did this for each strip of focus fabric. I, then, decided where I wanted to cut the green/background strip to give me either a centered color strip or offset (depending on how off center of the green strip I cut it.). There’s no figuring how long the green strip on the left or right needs to be cuz the total equals the same for all. If this is too confusing, let me know and I will try for a diagram. The floral “windows” I just inserted where I wanted them as I sewed the strips together.

The backing is pieced and straight……easily done with Sharon Schamber’s method of basting the layers together. If you are unfamiliar with this method, wander over to her YouTube tutorial and have a peak….I’ll wait………… It’s the only way I layer and the grain-lines are “spot on” with each other and allow for the pieced backing to be straight, also.

The fabrics purchased from Annie were “Sausalito Cottage” by Holly Holderman for Lakehouse Dry Goods.com. The green background is from Connecting Threads and is “Sapling” from their Mirage line of Quilters’ Basics. The small floral (strips) is “Cho-Cho no Sanpomichi” by Kumiko Sudo for In The Beginning Fabrics (2007). The batting is Hobbs 80/20 (cotton/poly).

039

The threads I used are: Sulky Viscose rayon (on right), 40 wt, color #1047. Love the shine!!!!!! For the trapunto effect in the large floral block inserts, I outline stitched the flowers with Wonderfil Invisafil, 100 wt, color #727. In the bobbin, once again, it was Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly, 70 wt.

Next time, a fun trip to another friend’s quilt shop a bit closer to home! Til then, take care, my friends, and may the Lord smile upon you………………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A “Finish”!…………………

  1. Jeanne says:

    Very pretty and sweet! The quilting is gorgeous – love all of your stitching variations! I do love the word finish – haven’t used it around here much this summer lol!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Sometimes “life” intervenes/interrupts(?) and such things must wait. I do hope your summer is closing peacefully. So glad you were able to come by for a visit! I have been a bit “blog absent” of late, also! Hugs…………….

  2. Yep, finish, a good thing. As with Jeanne, I’m short on finishes this summer. But MY I’ve been busy! Leah will love the quilt. She is lucky to have you in her life.

  3. Fiona says:

    It’s gorgeous… I love everything about it.. the colours, the shapes and the quilting….
    Hugz

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m thrilled that it appeals to you, too! What was in my head did manage to get translated into fabric in acceptable fashion. It will definitely cheer up Leah, especially next winter with all that “white stuff” that seems to appear!!!!! Hugs………………..

  4. KerryCan says:

    This is wonderful! So cheery and upbeat–I’m sure your friend will love it. It’ll bring summer into her room every day. I recently used Schamber’s basting approach for the first time and I’m sold!

  5. witchylin says:

    Those colours are gorgeous together Doreen. The green sets it all off perfectly. Your quilting is unusual and very effective. Leah will love it. 🙂

  6. LB says:

    Hi Doreen,
    As always a beautiful quilt; I actually love the back 🙂
    I’ve been a bit absent on visiting blogs (vacation and getting caught up from vacation), but I think I’m back 🙂

  7. May the Lord smile upon you, too, my friend and bless you.

    Beautiful quilt that speaks the word “comfort” to me.

  8. Thread crazy says:

    Beautiful, simply beautiful and YES, finishes give you the best feeling! I know Leah is going to just love it and enjoy the warmth it will bring. The blessings that we quilts provide to other is un-measureable. Only God know and will in turn bless those of us that give of ourselves to others!

  9. Michele says:

    It really is beautiful. Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

