(Mini) Road Trip……………….

To Cresco, IA, and Quilter’s Garden, owned by friend Kati Mast. Earlier this summer she had moved her shop down a couple doors into a bright spacious new space. Gorgeous!!!!! I hadn’t been able to “get my act together” and make the 50 mile trek to see her new ‘digs’, so when friend, JoAnn, called and wondered if I would like to take a jaunt with her……well…….could I refuse???? No! Summer is fast ending and JoAnn will be ending her teacher’s summer “vacation” so, off we headed. Kati was not in her shop that day but Michelle greeted us and showed us around. Following is a photo tour of the 2 (yes, 2!) floors of this fab spot!!!!!!019

Not even an official sign yet!!!!

015

014

Everywhere you look…….ideas…..ideas……….016

001

Oh….there’s Michelle! Can we all say “Hi! Michelle!!”

002011

003

The 2nd floor gave a ‘hint’ of what is to come, season wise, or. if one wanted to get the “Christmas in July” thing going, fabrics, patterns and ideas were everywhere!!!008007018

004005

006  The above 3 photos are of the wonderfully cheerful quiet-place and teaching/classroom area on the 2nd floor.

012 013 

The “back room” has many mark-down bolts and longarm machine, for the custom quilting Kati is always busy with.

That concludes the tour. I will have to say, I “escaped” with only a quilting thread purchase (needed, of course!)………this time!!!!!! Missed you, Kati!!!!

Til next time………..may your bobbins always be full………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to (Mini) Road Trip……………….

  1. “Hi Michelle”!!! Looks like a great shop. I do love the upstairs area -perfect! It’s hard a resist the offer of a road trip………!

  2. Beth Ann says:

    Wow! What an amazing new space for Katie!! I love that it has a second floor for holiday themed items and the teaching/learning area is awesome! I can only imagine how thrilled she is! As well as all of her customers.

  3. sharechair says:

    That looks like a wonderful store. How inspiring!!!! (wish it was closer. A little far to go for lessons 🙂 )

  4. Thread crazy says:

    Thanks for the tour…what a lovely shop. I’m so surprised you left with only thread!! Yes I saw several ideas and its nice to have shops like that to shop in. While we do have a local quilt shop, I gave several that I visit and most are 30-60 miles away… but that makes for a road trip.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yup……am off to a shop 50 miles away tomorrow to have my Sweet Sixteen serviced. Report on Wednesday (I hope!!). My limit for a mini hop is 100 miles radius, after that it’s pretty major!!!!

  5. Very nice. My favorite shop is in an old store-front, too, and also uses the upstairs as classroom and work space. People can reserve it for mini-(daytime)-retreats for their groups, or to teach, or other meetings. The owner is very welcoming. And she has great taste in music. 🙂

  6. Jeanne says:

    Thanks for the tour! It is a shop I haven’t been too … and that means I have to go there! Maybe one day soon.

  7. Since I’m not a quilter, I’m studying the beautiful brick walls and interior. Gorgeous and perfect for a quilt shop. Did you check out anything else in Cresco, like the sculptures or that old theatre?

  8. witchylin says:

    Thank you for sharing your pictures of the perfect quilting shop. I have fallen for the gorgeous quilt with the snow pictures and the autumn colours in the third, fourth and fifth pictures. Another on to add to my wish/must make list. I admire your restraint on buying only thread. It must have been difficult not to take home a ton of fabric. 😉

  9. KerryCan says:

    Great-looking shop! How exciting for your friend to be able to expand like this!

  10. LB says:

    Such a beautiful space! My favorite parts: the brick walls. They sure provide a great backdrop for those gorgeous quilts / supplies!

  11. Amy says:

    What a charming shop! Love the light and the brick walls. Of course, filled with fabric and creativity is awesome too!

Leave a Reply

