The end of the gardening season…….

Brings varied tasks…..the tomatoes have been awesome this year! We’ve had BLT’s (with avocado, of course!) several times a week…yum. Today I made up 8 pints of marinara sauce to put away for those blustery days that are coming. The recipe I use is found here…….005

007

Yes, it’s for “Chicken Parm” but it’s a great all-‘round sauce for other dishes, too. (Although, this, and eggplant parm, are outstanding!!!!) Her recipes are not complicated but just “down-home good cookin’”! The wine I used is from a very exclusive source….but one that’s easily accessed…….DH’s wine cellar!!!!001 So handy……just down our basement!! This is a medium dry white wine…..perfect!!!!

BUT, lest you think I haven’t been at the machines……….these are rapidly becoming………..004

these………………..002

Just 3 more to make and, then, to put the rows together and the center of version #4 is ready for its red border. The fun continues after a quick overnight at the RV to take care of a couple needed tasks. Til next time………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The end of the gardening season…….

  1. You have been productive!!! The sauce looks very yummy!

  2. witchylin says:

    All I can say is Yum and very classy!
    Your post is very educational for both cooking and quilting. Fun to do and read as always. 🙂

  3. Beth Ann says:

    You have so much going on! I am so impressed and you know that I love the red pattern, right? 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yup! Every time I look at/work on my current tops I think of you and that quilt I did for you……wonderful, sweet memories of the quilt and our time spent together!!! Hugs………….

  4. Like a busy squirrel preparing for (can’t say the word), you are.

  5. LB says:

    I enjoy watching Ree Drummond’s cooking show, in fact just finished watching an episode.
    Check out my the post from today, and let me know if you need any more Basil 🙂

  6. Thread crazy says:

    I so love to watch Ree’s show…she does have some great recipes. I will have to check out that cookbook too. I’ve been cooking my extra tomatoes then running thru the strainer and freezing the pulp/juice. Love homemade tomato soup! Enjoy those cooler temps coming…we’re still on the edge of 100!.

    • treadlemusic says:

      90’s/100’s are just a bit much!!! Right now it’s 66f and drippy a bit. High humidity but at least it’s cooled a lot. As soon as the humidity goes the A/C will be shut off. Great sewing/quilting weather, though, hmmmmmmmmmmm????

Leave a Reply

