Thrifty Thursday…………….

(No apology for the alliteration…hehe!) Success! was experienced when shopping yesterday at Hancock Fabrics. I had thought I would use a solid white fabric for the backing for both the red and white (“Disappearing Pinwheel” blocks, versions 3&4) quilts now in progress. One thought kept coming to me……boring! I had always wanted to make a very “traditional” red/white quilt and I am super pleased x2 with how these are turning out but, I thought, why not ‘punch’ it up a bit!!??!! So……..because the fabric was 50% off and it was 15% off that, for “Senior Discount Wednesday”(!), I scored this beautiful piece…………………….001

I approach their fabrics with caution cuz, generally speaking, the quality is lacking somewhat………but I was pleasantly surprised on this one!!!!! It is a nice fine weave and the ‘hand’ is so soft without a hint of “flimsiness” that pervades their fabric lines…..regardless of price! This piece, in their batik line, was $9.99/yd but the discounts were mighty………you can do the math!

Onward………..after some serious lawn mowing, however!!!! Or should I say “baling”!!!!!??????   Til next time………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Thrifty Thursday…………….

  1. rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary B here:
    yeah but Hancocks is better than JoAnnes… well, no I agree, it is 50/50 both places.
    equal selection of nice and terrible. What do they say? “It’s a crap shoot” hahaha
    This fabric is great. You did score big!

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so right!!!! I tremble at the thought of so many inexperienced sewers in that environment!!! So many students have vouchers/discount coupons that buy their supplies for classes…….ugh!!! I do buy my Sulky Viscose thread there but rarely anything else…..not because I haven’t looked, though!!!! JoAnn Fabrics has so many loyal customers and the stores are so junky and disorganized that I have not purchased there in decades!!!! And, so, I support my LQS!!!!!!! Yay!

  2. Thread crazy says:

    Well between Hancock’s and JoAnn’s, I must admit I like Hancock’s better. I too had some time to kill yesterday before an appointment so stopped by Hancock’s and purchased some fall fabrics. They were soft and silky to the touch plus the quality was good; at least you couldn’t see through the material! Then today went on a “road trip” to a town about 60-70 miles away; they have a 30% off twice a year. Plus there’s two other quilt stores in same town so they have the same sale. It’s a win win for all! Yes, My friends and I gave the three quilt stores some major business!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Wow! That sounds like an awesome road trip!!!! The “see through” test for Hancock’s fabric is a ‘must’….too many failures. Just like so many other places/products…the prices are kept at a lower level but the quality has dropped dramatically!!!!!

      • Thread crazy says:

        Well with my discounts and fabric on sale I ended up with 1/2 cuts @ $2.30 a piece. Pretty good price..now I’m using thus in table toppers so it will be OK. Thought at least id give it a try. Quilt ships yesterday were 30-35% off all stock n the one store had 40% end if bolt! Stock up time id say! Have great weekend!

  3. I’ve purchased fine fabrics at both, but it does take experience to know what that feels like. And I’ll admit I’ve been disappointed a couple of times — what feels good prior to washing can feel cheap afterwards. But I’ve had that with quilt shop fabrics a couple of times, too.

    No Hancock’s near me, but I did stop in JoAnn’s this afternoon. No coupons in hand, no purchase — the only thing I wanted, for a BACK, was $13. With coupon discount I’ll jump, but not without. Methinks they overprice, based on the discounts we all demand.

    Looks like you got a lovely fabric and a great deal, though. Should be a fun finish.

  4. mtetar says:

    Awesome fabric and cost and believing definitely an awesome finished project ahead. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  5. Splendid choice. My thought on white would be how it would show the dirt. Practical. Yes.

  6. Michele says:

    Bargains are always great for backings. Yeah for you.

Leave a Reply

