Hurricanes………….

T-shirt quilt, that is!!! A client/friend had been a teacher at our local high school until her retirement this past Spring and she had acquired a really neat collection of themed t-shirts. With her newly found “free time” she put together this keepsake/lap quilt. Her teaching expertise/fields were physics, chemistry and biology (although, I’m sure she’s proficient in others!), so check out the backing fabric she chose (last photo)! Her/our school is the Houston “Hurricanes”.003

In keeping with the theme, I tried to use a stitching motif that would be appropriate. I call it “Windy Swirls”.

005

006

And that oh-so-perfect backing fabric………………………………..

007

I could not find the name of the above fabric, but the selvage says it’s by Timeless Treasures, Pattern #GAIL-C 5523 (?). I used Sulky Viscose rayon thread in a wine color (top thread) and Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly “Turkey Red” for the bobbin. The quilt measures 51”x67”.

This was a very enjoyable project. T-shirt quilts do present some unique challenges, even when properly prepared/backed. The shirt parts still have some knit stretch to them and many have a very heavy logo that is vinyl/rubberized so there is a probability of thread breakage while sewing through those areas. Also, like leather and other vinyls, once a hole is made…..it’s there permanently so no ripping unless the replacement stitches fall in the same spots!

I do hope you are enjoying a beautiful Autumn. Ours, here in the upper Midwest, is amazing! The most brilliant tree/foliage colors have passed but it’s still most colorful. Now, on to my next project………………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hurricanes………….

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I wondered how the stitching on tshirt fabric would be and you answered that question perfectly. 🙂 Exactly as i suspected. I love the quilt and the backing is perfect. What a fun project.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The gal picked it up last eve and was very pleased. It’s her first (of many, I hope) project since somewhat unexpectedly retiring last Spring!!! It was meticulously pieced and a joy to work on. Hugs………………….

  2. mtetar says:

    Sooooo lovely. Timeless Treasure has Great Prints. Blessings Everyone, Mtetar

  3. Jackie says:

    I simply love these tee-shirt quilts (my aunt just put one together for her grandson). That backing is perfect for someone whose career has been in teaching! I love it 🙂

  4. Yes, that backing fabric is perfect. What a keepsake this will be.

    • treadlemusic says:

      At quilt group last eve, everyone asked her what the future is for this little quilt……her response was that it’s HERS!!!! A personal cuddle quilt!!! Good for her!!!

  5. KerryCan says:

    I’ve always thought this was a perfect way to deal with lots of t-shirts that have sentimental value–this one turned out great!

  6. Thread crazy says:

    Very cool – and love that backing. TT does have some neat prints; I should know as my storage bins have several of theirs. I have about 40-50 T-shirts for granddaughter that I need to get started on myself. Thanks for tips o sewing.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Lap sized t-shirt quilts are not too bad to do on a domestic but anything larger is nicely quilted on something larger. I’ve enjoyed making the ones I did, If you have any questions I would be happy to have input if you want. Hugs…………

      • Thread crazy says:

        Oh thanks Doreen for your offer of help. I will definitely take you up on it. I’m planning on starting it soon…so I’ll email you later. Thanks a bunch. Hugs back to you!

  7. LB says:

    These are great, Doreen! I’ve known of people who have their Harley shirts made into a quilt and also their concert t-shirts. Fun!

  8. Michele says:

    It turned out great1

Leave a Reply

