Another meeting………….

Of the LaCrosse (WI) Area Quilt Guild was held last Tuesday evening with special guest speaker Patti Hellenbrand, and daughter, owner of Village Creek Quilt Shop located in Lodi, WI (just North of Madison and 125 miles East of LaCrosse). Her presentation was mesmerizing to say the least. She gave us a trunk show with quilts from her books Have Your Cake and Eat it Too! Her super easy, and very clever, cutting methods had us all riveted and frantically trying to take notes! Many just decided to do a purchase and make life a lot simpler!!!! LOL! Here are some photos (from the 2nd row, unfortunately)……………………………… To begin: a quick before the show pix of Patti and her daughter/able assistant…….044

046047The larger quilt (above) was made with a layer cake/10” squares and the smaller one is the same technique, made with charms/5” squares. For each of the larger quilts, she had a mini version. 048 050051 Just different width of the “sliced” pieces results in 2 different looks (& showing the small, ‘charm’ versions).

052053  Her cutting directions seemed so simple/easy to remember at the time…….not so much now!!!!!! Should have bought the book!!!! 054056 058 062057Amazing how different each of the above 3 appear with the change of fabric colors!!!!!! 063060064

065067

If you are a quilter/piecer who enjoys (or is intrigued by) Missouri Star Quilt Company’s “slice & dice” techniques, I would highly recommend all of Patti’s books, patterns, etc. There were many more quilts and patterns shown that night that held us spell-bound by their simplicity of assembly.

I hope you enjoyed this event snippet and will stop by again! Til next time………………………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Another meeting………….

  1. KerryCan says:

    Wow–some great-looking quilts here! You always seem to be going to quilt meetings–how do you ever get any actual quilting done?! 😉

  2. Jeanne says:

    I hate when I get home and find that the directions I thought I had clear in my head have escaped. ;( These would be fun to make. We’ll be in Madison in a couple of weeks – may have to drive a few more minutes and visit Lodi. I’ve never been to Village Creek Quilts.

    • treadlemusic says:

      You must try to get there and get the latest book (10 patterns) which would be most of what I had in my post. There’s a post about this new book (“Have Your Cake and Make Some More”) on their Fb site. I think it was $15….that would be only $1.50/pattern!!!!!! Great value….wish I would have gotten a copy….now!!!!! You are so right about that ‘memory thing”!!! LOL!!!!

  3. I think I will have to bring that in for my customers …..thank you for the review and all the pictures.

  4. mtetar says:

    Oh wow they’re beautiful. I thought you were going to say Lodi, NJ so I could visit and get to see their beautiful work of art. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  5. mtetar says:

    You’re a true Quilter always involved in making, teaching, and shaping the BEST. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  6. Thread crazy says:

    Did you ever wonder how MSQ comes up with all these neat new ways of cutting, piecing, etc.? It is truly amazing and yes, had I been there I would have been doing some fast writing and still not getting it all. I agree – just buy the book!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yup. That’s the direction I’m leaning. Of course I would just love to go and purchase it in person…..but the shop is 125 miles from LaCrosse (which is 35 miles from my home)…..sigh……why didn’t I just buy the book that night……double sigh!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

