“Design Wall” finish…………….

One week later, check post here, and my long overdue “friendship quilt”/UFO looks like this:004

And I just love it!!! I really hate to admit this but I’m kinda glad I didn’t finish it ‘way back when’ (even though some of my sweet friends are no longer with us). It is a treasure filled with memories of special times together as we learned more about this (then) new-to-us art called quilting and cemented friendships that have grown over these many years.

Some close-ups………..005

006

007

008

And the backing (with a couple of “orphan blocks”)………009

010

011

AND……….every quilt must have a label/documentation. Yes, we may(?) remember the circumstances behind each quilt made, but for future reference such info provided is important………even if it’s “just” an everyday quilt!!!!!! This really is important!!! (ok, I’m stepping down of my ‘soap box’ now…….) 012

I impressed even myself when I dove into my stash and came up with the fabrics for the sashing, border and binding. I just canNOT throw anything away!!!! Now, I’m very glad I didn’t!!! The selvage on the binding fabric says “Country Classics” by Ameritex. I know this is not recent!!!!!

Thread used: Sulky Viscose in an off-white for the top and Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly, 70wt, in ‘Natural’ on the bobbin. The batting, unless specially noted, is always Hobb’s 80/20 cotton/poly…….love it!!!!

The quilting motif is a feather swirl which dealt with all the piecing “issues” beautifully!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to “Design Wall” finish…………….

  1. Thread crazy says:

    What a pretty friendship quilt and I love the label. You will always be reminded of your friends when you look at this quilt. Yes, labels are a must, if nothing more than to document the when you made it, etc. Did you draw your label or print it out on the printer?? Love it. I presume you order most of your thread from Connecting Threads??

    • treadlemusic says:

      The label was one of several pre-printed on a panel (from years ago!). I am always on the look-out for such fabric panels. I do buy my bobbin thread from CT and do have a supply of their cotton thread, also. Although it is listed as “long staple” I feel the “lint factor” is too high and rarely use it (top thread ONLY—–linty!!!). The 70wt poly is lovely and seems to work with all the tops threads in my cabinet with almost no lint (I do use a drop of oil every other bobbin). The 70wt allows for a lot of thread on each bobbin fill……love that!!! And the price is very affordable (free shipping with +$50 doesn’t hurt, either!!!!!). CT is a family owned/run business and is where I get my Hobb’s batting, too, when they have their 30% off sales.

      • Thread crazy says:

        We used to carry panels of labels at the shop years ago and I’ve looked at other shops but need to get online and look, as they are hard to find. Thanks on info on thread. I have some 70wt(?) poly that I’ll try to use and also love using King Tut cotton. Once I get through my supply of KT I may switch out to more poly. Lint factor hasn’t been too bad with KT, not like some others. I’ll keep CT in mind next time. Thanks and stay warm – yes, we are getting the cold front tomorrow with our first freeze this week!

        • treadlemusic says:

          Woke up to snow flurries left on the BBQ grill lid and a tad on the roofs but not much more. Very few miles north of us (maybe 25!) it’s a different story……..rain, snow, sleet with accumulation and the Twin Cities…..well, I won’t even talk about them!!!!!!!

  2. JoAnn Lee says:

    Doreen, it looks great. I am sure stitching this brought back all the great memories of quilting. I do miss some of our friends. I has been great to stitch together all these years. And I know we will have many more to come. Did we sign our block? I do not remember making one.

  3. mtetar says:

    Awesome!!! Waste not want not and scraps makes the best projects and your finished project proves it. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  4. Karen in Breezy Point says:

    How great to get a UFO finished up! I love the swirl quilting–very pretty!

  5. KerryCan says:

    That turned out amazing, Doreen! I, too, think it’s kind of neat that you ere able to complete it all these years later and take that trip down memory lane as you did so. And, I totally agree about the labels, even though I haven’t actually put them on all the quilts I have!

  6. Laura says:

    Your quilt is wonderful. I have several tops from the ’90’s, when I first started quilting. I tell myself that it is okay. My machine quilting skills were basically non-existent then and I can do a better job now! I totally, 110% agree with you that quilts should be labeled!

    • treadlemusic says:

      It really is such a simple task…..especially with labels like I used on this one (pre printed panel) and the Micron ink pens. Really not much excuse not to do it (This is a ‘self reminder/prompt’!!!!!)
      Thanks for stopping by!!!! Hugs………………

      • Laura says:

        I sign wall hangings & table runners with my signature, city,state and date directly on the backing fabric with a pigma pen after they are complete. It is fun to look at the dates and see my quilting progress through the years. Plus, I like to think of each piece as a work of art! Artists sign their work on the front of a painting, why shouldn’t I sign mine?

  7. What a special quilt for you. So agree about labels.

  8. Fiona says:

    just stunning quilting to make that into a wonderful quilt…. with special meaning…
    Hugz

  9. Michele says:

    It is wonderful that you finished it and have it as a treasured memory.

Leave a Reply

