Some small gifts finished……….

Sorry I can’t reveal them at this time……..but, on to a friend/client’s project (which will be soon gifted, I believe). First I had to listen………..this bright happy piecing, seen in photo below…….002   although made up with intense, “in your face” colored fabrics, was whispering…………”I can’t hear you” (says I)!!!! Finally, communication was reached and a practice stitching (doubling as a tension testing) produced this…….001   Looks ok on the muslin, let’s see how it works on the quilt…….003   I think this will do just fine. Inspiration was gotten from the flowers just showing in the lower right corner of the photo. A good start.

 

004005

006

I’m definitely liking this one. A peek at the backing……….008

I’m using Isacord thread top and bobbin in “Apricot” (#1220). Love this thread……beautiful shine and slides through the machine and fabric like a hot knife through butter!!!!!! The size of the quilt is 60”x 74”, a really nice sized lap or small bed quilt.

Now…….back to the fun…………………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Some small gifts finished……….

  1. Your roses are lovely! Thanks for showing them on the muslin — shows how simple and elegant they really are.

    • treadlemusic says:

      This motif allows a lot of flexibility for even fill-in (which is the challenge when quilting on a DSM or sit-down long/mid arm). It seems to be flowing well. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a few words!!!! Hugs…….

  2. I love reading how your stitching is inspired. You are a true artist.

  3. catpatches says:

    Pretty! I’m going to try that on my gardener’s journal quilt.

  4. JoAnn Lee says:

    I like it.

  5. mtetar says:

    It’s your gift, love, and truly at heart you’re Blessed with such and worth being thankful for each day. It’s another beautiful project. Be Blessed Everyone, Mtetar

  6. Thread crazy says:

    Your quilt motif flows flawlessly through the fabric – you have a way with stitches! Beautiful and yet not too complicated. Hugs your way my friend….

    • treadlemusic says:

      I appreciate your observations so much. That is exactly the ‘feel’ I was going for! This just “clicked”! I guess that’s what happens when I really ‘listen’ to what the quilt says!!! Blessings………………

  7. KerryCan says:

    That’s turning out great! And seeing it on the muslin really helps gets a sense of the design–lovely and understated!

    • treadlemusic says:

      That was the hoped for feeling. As DH said, it is a very different direction for me. Thanks for stopping by and taking a moment to comment!!! Blessings of the day to you and hugs…………………

Leave a Reply

