A Bit of Frogging, but…………….

A finish! On Thanksgiving I had a chance to do some piecing of triangles left from another project (see here) and, I’m happy to report, it’s completed. It’s a tablerunner (no pattern really) so I decided I had better give some sewing/quilting time to my Ms B (Bernina 440QE). She’s been setting idle for way too long….which is not good for any machine. I have covers for all my machines so dust was not a problem but still………. And besides that I had just purchased an open toe embroidery/fmq foot for her. Yes, I had gotten the BSR (Bernina Stitch Regulator) with her purchase (about 4+ yrs. ago!!) but I do NOT like any type of stitch regulator functions and prefer my own “hand guided” stitching (very fussy that way!!!). 012

I did all the piecing and fmq on Ms B and this new foot worked wonderfully for the fmq. It is not a “hopping” foot but rather it skims over the surface with just enough up/down movement to keep proper stitch formation. Great investment!!!!

Well, getting back to the project at hand. I kinda zoned out and that always results in this………………….006   Now this really isn’t a huge amount to “frog” but I repeated this mis-stitching 2 more times!!!!!!! Ugh!!!!!

It got better after a bit and here are the photos to prove it………………………007 008 009 

And the finish…………013

A couple of ‘shots’ of the backing………………………010011

Thread used: Isacord “Apricot” (color#1220)….love this thread!!!!

Although Ms B performed wonderfully, I did miss the wonderful clear view of the project while stitching that Ms. Sweetie (Sweet 16) affords. For smaller motifs/tighter detail, though, this was an awesome experience.

Now, on to “sandwiching” another client’s quilt!!!! Christmas is definitely coming SOON!!!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Bit of Frogging, but…………….

  1. mtetar says:

    Always great work expected from you. I lke the colors of fabric and threads. I can tell what fun you are having with what you love doing. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  2. Thread crazy says:

    It’s great when you use leftovers and they come out beautiful isn’t it?? Especially when you didn’t even have a pattern! Beautiful…

    • treadlemusic says:

      This really was fun and one of those “I’m thankful for my design wall” situations! I haven’t done much with triangles so this was a very good project/experience. Many of my clients’ quilts, lately, have been exclusively made up of triangles so figured I must be ‘out of the loop’!!!! LOL!!!!! Thanks for your visit! Hugs…………..

  3. KerryCan says:

    I like the back of that as well as the front! The apricot stitching looks great on the blue fabric.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It does…….kinda like a pair of blue-jeans with the gold-ish thread on denim. Love that backing material…..left over from the quilt I made for Rob last Spring (with ‘shot bags’ as the top). The apricot thread seems to be my “go to” color for some reason. Just bought another cone (the last on the shelf at the quilt shop……must be popular!). Hugs to you across the miles………..

  4. The 24 foot changed my quilting life 🙂 its my favorite and I love to teach with it.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I couldn’t agree more, Teri!!!!! If it was included with the machine they wouldn’t need to have some of the other stuff (but then they wouldn’t be able to “sell” us more stuff and that’s $$$$$ lost).

  5. LB says:

    Beautiful! I have a love (addiction) for table runners!

Leave a Reply

