Paper piecing………….

Is not my ‘thing’ but when a friend (and member of the larger quilt group I belong to) requests one for her “friendship” quilt who am I to say no?? Well, truth be told, I did kinda side-step the issue but she tracked me down and even offered to make the block if I picked out some fabric from my stash. Sigh……… So I got the pattern copy and went at it yesterday. I do believe that it’s just too “putsy” for me….maybe, well, that’s my story and I’m trying to stick to it. So, here’s the result………001

Yes, it’s a coffee/tea(?) cup……how “biker” is that!!!???!!!! The burgundy fabric at the bottom is just laid there for a finish for this photo. The gal has some brown fabric that she gave to all the others to use as the “shelf” the cup sets on. Clever! I will sign my name to the saucer and call it ‘done’. I only ripped out……….well, let’s just say a few times!!!!!!!! It’s definitely “me”, though!!! LOL!  Highly caffeinated!!!!

Continuing my march toward the upcoming Christmas gatherings that begin this Saturday. How are your preparations coming along????

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Paper piecing………….

  1. mandymunroe says:

    I like it, good choice of fabric!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you. It’s the left over “Sturgis” fabric from a quilt I made for our RV. Large motif but I think I sneaked enough of it in!!!!! Glad you stopped by. Hugs………….

  2. mtetar says:

    You did it again it will warm someone’s heart for sure. Very Nice. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  3. Beth Ann says:

    I LOVE it—even if it was not your “thing” you did a fabulous job as always. My preparations are very minimal this year—–if you read my post today you will read why —the hubby put his foot down. 🙂

  4. That mug is perfect.

    I pulled out some Christmas decorations yesterday. That’s my prep thus far. This weekend my husband and I are ringing bells for the Salvation Army. Does that count?

  5. Thread crazy says:

    Turned out very good I do believe. Paper piecing, yes I’ve done some and have more to do. Takes time and yes, we do tend to “rip” a lot. I have my outside lights up (3000+) and started to put my large tree up. Well, Miss Rosie, our new little one, decided she’d like to chew on lights, so back in box it went. Finally got a small one to sit on end table. No other decorations are up as I’ve been shopping!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      After the frenzy of late Thanksgiving Day shopping (not us but so many around here!!!!), the stores seem to be just ‘normal’ busy. No real “brick & mortar” shopping for us. Did a couple of cyber purchases and the rest is gift cards (Gander Mountain for the grandsons for sure!!!!). A small tree for our bay window (with a village surrounding) is what fits in this small farm house!!!!. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to visit!!! Hugs…………..

  6. witchylin says:

    It may not be your thing Doreen but the coffee cup looks great.
    Have managed to bring the decorations and tree down from the loft, made the Yule cakes and posted off overseas gifts and that is about it. I forgot, I have made 4 mug rugs as gifts and will do 4 more. Hope to get the tree decorated and the lights on by this evening.
    Starting to look a little like Christmas/Yule.

  7. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! I love your coffee cup and you couldn’t have chosen better fabric! Hugs! x Teje

  8. ruthiequilts says:

    You did an awesome job! Great pattern too, btw… I’m thinking it was all done in 1 piece? Love it!

  9. Jan says:

    Doreen, Love the Sturgis fabric 🙂 We did a quilt for a friend using the tea cup pattern years ago … she was president of our quilters’ guild and collected tea cups; she finished it off by setting the blocks on fabric shelves and framed it all to look like an antique hutch!!! This brings back great memories. Jan

    • treadlemusic says:

      Really! I hadn’t seen this pattern before and I will definitely have a photo of the completed quilt when the gal gets it put together. She’s waiting on one more block. So glad you could stop by……I love your visits!!!! Hugs…………..

  10. Looks like you nailed it Doreen – yay!!

  11. Jackie says:

    You never cease to amaze me with your creative juices…Love this block!!! Havent mustered the energy to start decorating, we have our 1st Christmas party tomorrow night, I’m hoping that’ll get me in the mood to start decorating 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Bits and pieces appearing here. My reason for dragging my feet is maybe a bit strange. I LOVE the trimmings and this time of year BUT dread their removal…..to the point that the best way to avoid that feeling is not to do a major decorating in the first place!!!!! How’s that for sidestepping!!!??? LOL!!!!

  12. ivoryspring says:

    It is TOTALLY biker. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your gum drop tree story – I love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

