The Return of the Cardinals…………….

Or, let’s have some fun with thread!!!! Having finished up all the clients’ quilts I have at the moment, it’s time to have a little “me” quilty time and that means the Cardinal Quilt is back. (see here & here)  Having finished the dark cranberry background center, I am beginning the picture ‘blocks’ in the center portion. Here’s today’s progress……………..005

006

007

008

009

There are quite a few of these and they will be done as the “spirit moves”…….totally fmq (free motion quilting). I’m absolutely in love with doing these panels!!

Threads being used (top): Sulky Rayon/Viscose and Isacord. Bobbin: Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly (70wt)…..no surprise there, eh???? To be continued………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Return of the Cardinals…………….

  1. Gloria says:

    This is going to be very pretty.

  2. sharechair says:

    Oh my goodness, this is gorgeous!!! You are SO talented!!!

  3. OMG! Your quilting has become outstanding! I just love those feathers in the dark burgundy color. And those cardinals are so adorable! You should start teaching classes now :). Looks wonderful!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I so love the “feather” stitching ‘thing’ (you can tell, I’m sure!!!) and would gladly demo it if/when asked. The background (burgundy thread on burgundy fabric) turned out much better than I initially thought it would. I feared the stitching would just get lost in the color. Your sweet words are very appreciated……really!!!!! Hugs and blessings comin’ your way………………..

  4. Jeanne says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! So glad you are caught up with client’s work and have ‘me’ time. I love seeing your quilting – you are quite an inspiration to me! ~Jeanne

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am a tad ‘overwhelmed’ with your kind words!!! I’m glad what I do/post about spurs you on. My greatest joy is to have conversation with a fellow quilter who has discovered joy in such textile endeavors!!! The most difficult part to get across (especially to those whom I see daily) is it takes practice…..hours of it!! After watching hours of YouTube videos and many muslin practice squares, it really is possible to do many of the quilting motifs/patterns that are seen these days. My bloggy friends have been MY greatest inspiration/motivation, too…………that means you!!!! Many hugs…

  5. How gorgeous! You are so talented. 🙂

    Thanks so much for your well wishes. Losing two months of my life wasn’t easy, but it did give me a lot of time to spend with the Lord. And He walked me through every step. I am so grateful. And I am grateful for blogging friends like you.

    Hoping you have a wonderful Christmas season!

    xo

    Sheila

  6. mtetar says:

    Someone is for sure goibg to be pleased for this as a gift. It is made of love. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  7. Michele says:

    They all really do look wonderful so far. They remind me of my grandmother since that was her favorite bird.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Cardinals are such a bright spot against the white landscape (ours is back to brown, however! Too many 32F+ days and now they’re saying a “brown” Christmas!!!). Thanks so much for the visit and the comment!!!!! Hugs to you……………….

  8. Feathers, McTavishing, all beautifully done; What’s not to love? Fabulous!

  9. daphnedawn says:

    Beautiful quilting detail! I love the cardinal!

    • treadlemusic says:

      That is my love, also!!! This panel was so exquisite (so I bought 2 repeats!!!) just so I could do something with that!!! Of course, this was purchased without a real clue as to exactly “what” would be the final finish!!!!! That’s how we build our stash!!!! Hmmmm?????? LOL!!!

  10. Beautiful work! Perfect for the holidays! I want to try trapunto but that’s a project down the road.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’ve not done any trapunto. I do have the water-soluble thread needed but have been too busy with other projects. The Cardinal quilt may not see a finish in time for this year (but, then again, if I have some chunks of time……maybe……….) Thanks so much for stopping by… Hugs………………………

  11. Rhonda says:

    Just gorgeous! I love how your FMQ feathers spray out to follow the flower sprays and the branches the cardinals are on.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I have been anxiously waiting for the free time to do this one. The images in my head have finally been transferred to fabric!!!!! And I’m in love with it, too! Thanks so much for your assessment………I so value your thoughts as one much further along this quilting expertise path!!!!!! Please, stop by again!! Hugs and Christmas Blessings……….

  12. ivoryspring says:

    Love your quilting on Cardinal!

  13. Gmama Jane says:

    Beautiful quilting! I’m NEW to your blog and the FB group as well as to FMQ. I have done some FMQ so I’m not a virgin…Ha!!! Anyhoo, I NEVER know what thread to use where. Everyone tells me a different way. Harriet Hargrove quilt book author uses her domestic machine to do long arm looking stitching..amazing. She uses invisible monofilament on top and 100% cotton in bobbin. My prblrm is with the bobbin thread peeking thru the top thread (red on bottom, invisable on bottom) The invisable takes on the color of whatever fabric it passes thru. If used on top AD bottom, you get a stiff feel and it doesn’t look as nice. I’m SO confused….Calgon Take Me Away!! That dates me doesn’t it? I’m 62, retired teacher.

Leave a Reply

