QuiltCon/Quilt Show Fun

As Quilt Artists, what we do comes from our hearts. Appreciation and, yes, peer validation impact us but must not be taken as our sole reason for creating. We (and all other artists) create because we MUST!!!

OccasionalPiece--Quilt!

Road Booths1I’ve been entering quilt shows since about the time I moved here to Southern California.  The closest one was Road to California, and in those days, I always was accepted.  Schooling interrupted my quilting, and when I got back to my craft, the ground had shifted underneath me.  I couldn’t get my quilts accepted any more.

I felt pretty badly about this the first time it happened, especially since the quilts I saw at the show seemed to be all spangle and sparkle and glitz and flash, along with quilting that was perfection, due to the advent of the longarm-quilted piece.  To say I was discouraged would be an understatement.

Grading Research Papers

I kept trying, and kept getting rejected. It felt a lot like grad school, where I’d write up my short story, or poem, and take it into workshop and they’d get out their figurative knives, blades, guns and other weapons…

View original post 902 more words

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to QuiltCon/Quilt Show Fun

  1. Interesting post, even for someone like me who is not a quilt artist. But, as a writer, I can relate to the “don’t get discouraged, the judges had a lot…”

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes, I thought you would appreciate it as a “word artist”. It’s not possible to separate criticism and critique and remain positive in light of that particular situation (Mod trend) or others that seem to be arbitrary.

  2. catpatches says:

    I’ve read three blog posts about this this morning. Apparently there are quite a few unhappy entrants out there. Your quilts are gorgeous.

    • treadlemusic says:

      This, along with the subject of copyright difficulties, seem to strike a very painful chord with many. “Art” is a very fragile/handle with care topic!
      I thank you so much for your kind words….their value is much (coming from such an accomplished quilt artist!!). Hugs………

  3. mtetar says:

    Yes Great Post and not surprised you are always helpful to all and especially to those in need. Be Blessed, Mtetar

Leave a Reply

