Thursday’s “Tip for the day”………..

But before I get to it, let me refresh your memory in regards to the current project ‘obsession’…..please, visit here and here. The ‘tip’ ………….. 001   You will notice the cut-out on the right was achieved using a ‘pinking shears’. Very handy to have for many uses but the best use I’ve found is for those times when trimming a curved line of stitching is needed. Using these shears, cut away the seam allowance as close to the stitches as you safely can, which will eliminate the need to clip the curves in a separate operation/process. I’ve used this in apparel assembly (“princess” shaped curves, sleeve/armscye, etc) and various craft project assemblies. End of “tip”……. and continuing current obsession project………………002   These 3 will be with the “self” handle versions.

009008005

I took my quilting cues from the fabric prints. You may click on any photo to enlarge it. 010

I think I’ve exhausted this pattern….for now. Now, off to “rescue” Ms Sweetie (Sweet 16) from the lingering “Cardinal Quilt”!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Thursday’s “Tip for the day”………..

  1. KerryCan says:

    I really, really like these! The fall leaf and dragonfly fabric is especially gorgeous!

  2. Beth Ann says:

    I really love these little “totes” for your special gifts!!! Very cute and practical and reusable as well! BTW, I suspect I dropped out of your feed with the blog changeover. Wahh! Come find me at http://www.itsjustlife.me!

  3. mtetar says:

    They are awesome. Would not mind having one. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  4. witchylin says:

    They are brilliant and thank you for the pinking scissors tip. I never thought about using them for curves. I will in future.

    • treadlemusic says:

      This was a sewing tip from several, uh…decades (ouch!) ago. It has really worked well in so many places. Each shears is a tad different so trial/error will determine how close you need to get to the stitching for it to do well. I’m so happy you popped in!!!!!! Hugs and stay warm………………..

  5. jennyklyon says:

    Great tip-what a smart girl you are!

    • treadlemusic says:

      When I had my sewing business I used this tip a lot (along with using my zipper foot when setting in sleeves….another awesome hint!!!!).
      Off to the machine………….have a great day and stay warm…. hugs………………….

  6. Laura says:

    Very nice wine bags. The “self” handles give a nice finish and are much more economical in comparison to the curtain ring grommet. I like the pinking shears tip also. I can think of many places where this would come in handy! Decades of experience make you wise . . . which is a good thing! Thanks for sharing.

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so very welcome!!! I get so excited about such little things (guess they’re not really ‘little’, hmmm?) as easy shortcuts and multiple uses for all our $$$ gizmos/tools. Helps to justify(?) the money spent!!! LOL! Thanks for dropping by!!! Hugs…………..

  7. ruthiequilts says:

    I just love these Doreen!!! Beautiful! I love my pinking shears for the same thing!!! Best thing ever!!!

  8. Thread crazy says:

    Your bags are lovely; I too like the one with leaves and dragon flies. I can see enlarging the pattern and using the “bag” for other uses. Plus I love my pinking shears and yes, they work wonderful on curves. Stay warm – was 18 on back porch this morning!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m anticipating much better temps by next week!!!!! It seems like these totes are a project I keep coming back to!! Aren’t dragon flies fascinating???? See ya soon…….

  9. Michele says:

    They look great and I’m betting that you will end up making more of them this year.

Leave a Reply

