Alert……(small) Rant on the horizon…….

Regarding the recent changes “Blogger”/Google has made to it’s blogs and my (lack of) ability to comment as a ‘WordPress’ blog identity. This situation occurred a while back and I spent endless hours trying to figure out what, if anything, I could change in my settings that would allow my comment to post, but……..nothing worked. The ‘ball’ was/is in the other blogger’s ‘court’. Somewhere there is a setting change (probably in the “moderation” settings) that would permit me to verify that I’m “not a robot” and sign in as who I am on WP. This situation doesn’t exist on all “Blogger” blogs that I follow which indicates to me that the situation is blog specific and could be changed by the moderator/administrator/blog owner-author.

 

So, please, if this possibly is you, dear bloggy friend, I (and, I suspect) many others, would appreciate some investigation into this so that our wonderful conversations/visits may continue.

 

End of “rant” and thank you for bearing with this moment of frustration venting. I, now, return you to the regular scheduled blogging………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Alert……(small) Rant on the horizon…….

  1. jennyklyon says:

    YES! So frustrating! I can sign in as my google email identity but not my word press identity-same for you?

  2. Fiona says:

    I hear you there… as a blogger blogger I am interested if there is a solution… at this stage there seems to be whether I choose a verification or not and if it is embedded… I feel I have to make a choice between one group of bloggers or another group of bloggers as there are problems on both sides ….. if anyone knows how I can please both I’d love to know… I have messed around for quite a long time when the problem was first there…. sigh. Believe me there have been rants from both sides.. I am thinking it is bloggerdesigner competitiveness????
    Hugz

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think you are right about it being a “Blogger” vs everybody else thing. Probably boils down to $$$. I was told that I should contact Blogger tech support for an answer but I don’t have a Blogger blog so I fail to see how that would solve anything!!! It irritates me no end that some have found a solution (still using verification) but it’s a mystery for others. I really hate to give Google any more press by using my Google/g-mail acct sign-in.

  3. Pip says:

    As another Blogger blogger, (not a very frequent blogger lately) I have my comments set to pop-up window and Anyone can comment, I don’t bother with word verification, and I only moderate comments if the post is more than 10 days old. (if I start getting a lot of spam then I switch to moderate all comments). I don’t know if my blog is one of the ones where you can’t comment.

    I have a WordPress account which automatically gets used for WP blogs, Blogger blogs automatically use my Google account, but there are some other options (on my blog) for choosing an Identity: Name/URL, Open ID and good old Anonymous. (With Name/URL you can enter your name and the URL is optional). Some bloggers don’t seem to know (or be willing) to change or play around with their settings.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I guess it’s only the Blogger person who knows what their settings are. I’ve left notes in my comments requesting they change their settings. It serves as a “heads up” that their blog is causing problems with others’ commenting. I do this by commenting as a Google/g-mail acct ID so I can post the comment! For some Blogger blogs, there is no “Anonymous” choice and “Open ID” doesn’t work with name/URL.

  4. witchylin says:

    I’m not a blogger but was trying to post on a friends blog. Nothing I did would allow my comment to appear. I mentioned it to him and he found a glitch in his blog that he was able to repair and all was well again. Computers. Aghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

    • treadlemusic says:

      That is usually the case. Long ago, when trying to find the same problem that was occurring then, I was told that it was the individual who owns the blog who would need to change a setting. But, I don’t think most know how to achieve this……asking their tech support would be a great idea, though!!! LOL!!!!

  5. Thread crazy says:

    I’ve had this occur only once or twice and when had to log in, it didn’t want my WP, but my Google ID, which also failed. After trying repeatedly to login, I just gave up. Thought it was user error but now perhaps it was as you were describing….problems on the blogger’s end. I’m with you though, I doubt the “blogger” doesn’t realize what’s happening and knows nothing about the settings. UGH!

  6. Jackie says:

    Just curious if you’ve had problems with mine, I use “blogspot”

  7. janprytz says:

    I use blogger, but to ease commenting on other platforms, I have accounts with WordPress and Typepad. They’re free, just like blogger. Right now, I’m commenting using WordPress, without a hassle.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you for your comment, Jan. I do have a Google account but that allows me to comment but that is not who I am (I am a Wp blogger) and I am of the belief that this is a way for Google to “control” their “share of the pie” and inflate their numbers for whatever reason (somehow it must boil down to advertisers and $$$$ for them). I do know that there are settings that can be changed to allow my Wp comments to be published.
      I guess it just irritates me how Google is able to control things and I, also, know that I am free just to not comment and even unfollow these blogs but they are counting on this not happening. Google seems to be the only provider who continually presents these types of issues.

  8. Yes, Ditto, glad you said this! I hate not being able to post as my blogging identity. If I log onto Google to comment, there is no link to my blog at all. That totally undermines the intention to have a community where bloggers can find and visit each other! I even looked into how to put my blog on my Google identify–what a joke. Someone would have to click around to “about” me and then look for “my website” to find it. I’m always disappointed to happen upon a blog that only allows Google sign-in for comments, and I’m very disappointed this is apparently a default setting for Blogger. Good idea to alert these bloggers. Perhaps if we start logging in to say “I was going to comment on your lovely quilt, but do you know….” !!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Your comment is excellent!!!! It states so perfectly what is going on and how I hope other bloggers will handle their commenting. I only have a Google/g-mail acct in order to have a 2nd e-mail acct for some sites that may “spam” my home acct. So I do try to continually alert the blog author of this situation. It IS a setting that THEY, as the blog owner, can control/change just as we can on Wp.
      Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I read them all and take them to heart. I do hope you will visit again. Hugs to you……………..Doreen

Leave a Reply

