“Dopp Kit” pattern revisited and updated………..

From this post, DH’s “Simple Request”, I have revisited and revised this pattern because, you see, he wanted another one!!! Yup……..so the perfect opportunity to try out all the “what ifs” I had noted the first go ‘round and, hopefully, come up with a better ‘kit’/bag………and I did!!!! If you visit the above previous post and go to the link for the pattern you will better understand what I’m about to explain/say. First, the original dopp kit: 018

The above dimensions are 8”x 8”x 4”. A bit too large of a ‘cube’. The second is below…………………..001002   Perfect!!!!! The dimensions are 8”x 5-1/2” x 4” and replicates it’s store-bought cousins wonderfully!!! Now, what did I do differently?????

Dopp kit pattern updated

I had printed out the directions, w/o pictures, using the “Print What you Like” download to exclude the extra stuff I didn’t need. Note: #1 I cut the fabric pieces 10”x14”. I like the length and the depth of the bag but not the width! I kept the 14” zip. #2 I used a medium weight fusible interfacing……..much better!!!!! Fuse it well!!!! #3 If you have a serger, finish the edges of each of the 4 pieces and do this individually, as the seams need to be opened after sewing. #4 Instead of a handle, as requested in the pattern, I made a larger loop at the one end and a smaller tab/loop at the other end of the zip. When opening and closing the zipper, it is very handy to be able to have these. Size is whatever! #5 To “box” this, a 4” length seam is the perfect length……ignore the 7”!!!!! I stitched these “box” ends 2 times….the 2nd time was a bit away from the first and then I cut the excess off with pinking shears. I did not serge the raw edges. (A side note: I installed the zip per original directions and it went perfectly. I used my 1/4” foot (not my zip foot—-not necessary to get close to zip teeth!!) to do the install…..textbook perfect!!!!!

From start to finish, this second bag took about 1-1/2 hours total. I definitely will be making more of these but not out of black denim, but with some of my beautiful stash fabrics that are threatening to ‘avalanche’!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to “Dopp Kit” pattern revisited and updated………..

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Those would make fabulous gifts, wouldn’t they? Just imagining all of the beautiful fabrics that you have in your stash that could be used!

  2. witchylin says:

    What better time to start making Christmas gift Dopp Kits now. You can get ahead and the stash might get a wee bit smaller. As if. 😉

  3. Thread crazy says:

    Oh, I like this size too, and I can see where a man might like that size better. With a revision or two I can see that larger one being nice for a lady, especially for traveling on a “bike”! Me thinks you have a winner there!!

  4. Jackie says:

    perfect…Lucky DH 🙂

  5. Always up to the challenge, aren’t you? With, as always, wonderful results. Well done. And I bet much better made than those store-bought ones.

  6. Love the ditty bag — my DH would too!! Woohoo!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The second/revised one went like “clockwork”!!!! I see many more in my future!!! Just more of that med. wt. fusible interfacing, but….maybe…..fusible batting will work (my stash definitely has that!!! LOL!). Hugs……

Leave a Reply

