A Surprise Win!!…………….

Is what I posted about here and, shortly after the New Year, the postman delivered this……….

001 002004

Now, I know that there are others out there that do similar tasks but they are lacking some of the features of this version. The most obvious is size~ a full 20” of slotted cutting area with handy markings for straightening the first edge in order to begin without having to reposition the ruler. It will be very easy to cut up to 1/2 yd of full width fabric yardage into  strips for bindings, strip/string piecings or whatever!!! 004   Because of the bold ‘star’ and ‘square’ markings, it’s easy to keep on track with the required cutting widths plus the 60 and 45 degree lines add to the ruler’s versatility. 002

006

Thanks, again, to Lisa at Primitive Gatherings Quilt Shop for the awesome gift. I look forward to reporting on all the future fun that awaits!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A Surprise Win!!…………….

  1. witchylin says:

    Congratulations on your win Doreen. I love Creative Grids rulers and all of mine are produced by them. However I don’t have that one. I may just have to buy myself a little or 20″ big New Year gift. it looks so very useful. 🙂
    Look forward to reading your take on it and how many different ways you can use it.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m excited, too. I’m thinkin’ a lot of binding will be cut with this baby! I will explore other uses when I have a chance! Definitely a worthwhile purchase in my books!!!!!

  2. Rosemarazzle says:

    this is way cool, Doreen.
    You are the perfect person to win this, it will be so useful with your mad quilting skills

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh dear Friend…..such an interesting choice of words!!! I do thank you for the compliment but I have been accused of being a bit of a “mad woman” when it comes to quilting (yes, DH would agree!! LOL!). Thanks so much for popping in!!! Hugs…………………

  3. Wonderful! I love my slotted ruler (different brand). The only thing I don’t like is it is too small. Yours looks terrific!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I do have the smaller (June Taylor) version…inherited from my dear friend Alice. This ruler is so much heavier/sturdier and, I would think, easier to use with better accuracy because of that. I would definitely recommend this ruler over the other!!!

  4. What fun, to win something. And I can’t think of anyone more deserving and appreciative.

    Mind if I plug my The Great Down Comforter Give-Away, my friend? I guess I am.

    Hop on over to Minnesota Prairie Roots for details:

    http://mnprairieroots.com/2015/01/13/a-give-away-win-a-down-comforter/

  5. You lucky girl, Doreen, ha ha!
    Wonderful to see this go to such a good home!
    Esther

  6. barbara wood says:

    We all need one

  7. ruthiequilts says:

    You lucky duck! I could use one of these right now! I’m having to cut strips the old fashioned way…
    Congratulations!!! You deserve it!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I will be doing a report on this gizmo but I think it’s really going to be a nice addition and one that really wasn’t in my current “budget”!!!! LOL!!!!! Thanks for stopping by!!!!!

  8. mtetar says:

    Congrats and I look forward to your postings. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  9. Looks interesting! Have fun.

  10. Thread crazy says:

    What a neat gift, especially for a quilter….so happy you won as you’ll definitely put it to good use. Will be waiting to hear how it performs.

  11. Jeanne says:

    How neat! I have a smaller ruler but this is fantastic! Congrats on the win – I like the idea of cutting binding with it!

Leave a Reply

