February Feather Friday is Here!!! Tutorial #1

Through the month of February, Lisa Calle is doing “February Feather Friday” and will demo her approach to stitching feathers on her DSM (domestic sewing machine). NOTE: There are as many different techniques/results for stitching these motifs as there are stitchers so, please, realize that your mind wiring may not “click” with this technique but the ‘rules’/hints that Lisa shares apply to all techniques. The shapes of the individual plumes may vary but the angle they join/return to the spine (usually 60 degrees) is crucial to an eye-pleasing motif. I would appreciate any feed-back on this series, as would Lisa (please, visit her excellent blog, too!!!). In order not to “reinvent the wheel”, I will be doing ‘feather’ tutorial posts from other quilters whose techniques may be different and may just be THE ONE that “clicks” with your (brain’s) wiring!!!!!!! Enjoy the process and don’t forget to…..practice, practice, practice!!!! Til next time, I’m off to the machines………………………………………

Lisa H Calle's Blog

It’s finally Friday…. This is the first of 4 feather tutorials for the month.  ( I might  have a bonus tutorial along the way.)

We are starting with the traditional longarm feather.  The video takes you through drawing and how important it is to doodle…  quilting out the feather on my BERNINA 750  and finally, quilting the feather on my A1.  Please be kind as most of you know I am trying to learn to quilt on my domestic. I’ll get there …. slowly.

Practice, Practice, Practice….

View original post

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to February Feather Friday is Here!!! Tutorial #1

  1. Amy Johnson says:

    I could watch feathers being stitched on a long arm all day. Well, until I couldn’t stand it any longer had to stitch them on my domestic. Love feathers!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I totally agree….either a long arm or DSM. Fascinating how they take shape out of ‘nothing’…..rather mesmerizing! AND it’s so interesting how each person’s ‘take’ on them is like their signature——-very unique!!!!!!

  2. Jeanne says:

    Thanks! I still have lots to learn and this video did not fail. My feathers will get better!

Leave a Reply

