Continuing the “Feather Friday” thought………

I thought I would post some links that would illustrate where I seriously began my fmq (free motion quilting) journey and who were some of the major contributors. First off, I want to stress that each of us ‘see’ and work through things differently and the final results will be as individual as each artist quilter. The method/process that I shared yesterday, with Lisa Calle’s tutorial, is one that I may use but isn’t one that I find comfortable all the time. Note: Although the methods/techniques may change in shaping the feathers/plumes, there are some “rules” that need to be observed in order for the resulting motif to be “eye-pleasing”. One of these is that the plume must join the spine at a 60 degree angle (approx.) or it will be (as Lisa pointed out) either too horizontal or vertical to the spine and not like a real feather!

Back in 2012, Leah Day did a QAL (quilt along) for anyone interested in honing their fmq (free motion quilting) skills. Perfect timing!!! I’m IN!!!! This was before I had my HQ Sweet 16 and all my fmq was done on my Juki TL2010Q …………. a super sweet machine and one I still use for some of my projects!!! My ‘finish’ for this QAL series is this……….

I was thrilled with the results and went on to do a picnic cloth using the same pattern……………… More on this project may be found here. These projects gave me ample opportunity to practice (yup, there’s ‘that’ word again!) many aspects of the process: transferring a pattern to cloth via a light table, stitching on marked lines, backtracking, stippling, curved stitching, plumes/spines but most of all it gave me the time to develop the skill of coordinating my hand/fabric movement/speed, foot-control/machine speed AND the sound of the machine——all together the “humm-purr” that expert quilter Cindy Needham speaks of as “guest blogger” on “SewCalGal”s post here. Please, take the time to go to this last link and read down to Cindy’s portion of the post. Cindy is another important contributor in my fmq adventure but more on this great gal another time!!!

OK……..I think I’ve given you a bit to ponder and, probably, enough for this time. ‘Til the next installment…..the machines await……………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Continuing the “Feather Friday” thought………

  1. CJ says:

    You’ve done amazing things with your HQ since you got her Doreen, you’re quilting is gorgeous!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much, CJ!!! I’m so totally obsessed it’s insane! (Tom will verify!) More fun quilty projects in-process right now….reveal shortly!!!!! Love your Siri photos!!!!!!! Hugs…………………….

  2. labugaiski says:

    Beautiful quilting! Thanks for some more links for quilting the feather! I have been practicing, and working on doing feather for about 2 weeks. Some look great some don’t! Thanks again

    • treadlemusic says:

      Keep at it!!! I know it will get easier and more pleasing…..cuz it was so for me. I’ll be posting some more info on quilting fmq feathers in the coming days, since it seems that mastering the feather will make so many other motifs come naturally!!!!! Hugs and the best to you……………………

Leave a Reply

