“Coneflower”Progress……………..

Was made today. Yesterday’s post gave a view all pin basted but now, well….. a couple of photos…………..014

013

The colors in the 2nd/above photo are a tad more accurate. All the fabrics used are dupioni silk (have I mentioned how much I love to work with silk???) and, again, I layered wool over silk batting for the extra loft/texture (a lazy gal’s trapunto!). Next up….re-threading with dark green to continue and finish. The deadline for this one is reeeeeeelly soon!!!!!!! (And totally unexpected!!!!!)

 Note: In looking at the published photos, the background is really more of a light cornflower/buttercream yellow than the light champagne that it appears and, yes, there is that hanging thread that hasn’t been buried yet…….sigh…………

 

Back to the machine……………………………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to “Coneflower”Progress……………..

  1. witchylin says:

    I love the ‘feathers’. So simple but so lovely. The quilting sets off the simplicity and makes it look like there is far more to it than just one little flower. Well there is isn’t there?

    • treadlemusic says:

      This type of stitching is so addicting for me!!! When I finish these projects it’s back to “reality” and doing several clients’ quilts ( but….2 are little floral wall pieces! Maybe…………………….)

  2. KerryCan says:

    One question–when do you sleep?! This is fabulous–I love the way the intensive quilting sets off the simple design of the coneflower.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I sleep, umm, really I do!!! LOL! But my quilting time/hours are, generally, uninterrupted (kinda) so I can really focus. I break for coffee, phone calls, lunch with DH, and, oh yes……”wine time”…..4:00 pm every day is THAT time! Maybe there’s a post needed!!! ROFL!!!!!! Hugs……….

  3. Anita says:

    Wow!!! Amazing to look at…..I love it…you truly have a gift!

  4. Jackie says:

    Oh wow… This is beautiful! You are so talented and creative Doreen 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      And, I truly hope, inspiring to others who would embark on an adventure of some type! The learning process is part of the trek and extremely rewarding!!!!! (not just quilting!!!!)

  5. gijane279-Liz says:

    Beautiful… lovely….. and I’m sure lots of hours are put into your craft!!! I took a couple of classes at a local long arm shop just to be able to “babysit” the machine while it worked (it’s all computerized) and I remember how exhausting just that was I can only imagine what it’s like to stand there and actually design yourself!!!!

  6. Thread crazy says:

    Love it….I guess some is “mctavishing” correct?? Again, feathers are soft and beautiful…

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think you are correct. Ever since my “challenge” project (last Spring), I’ve found it to be an great background fill!!!!! And fun……no marking just go for it!!!!!!

  7. LB says:

    Doreen, this is so beautiful … on to the next post 🙂

Leave a Reply

