Continuing “Feather Friday”………….

I am sharing several more machine quilters who have impacted me in my fmq journey.

Sharon Schamber. Along with her awesome method of “sandwiching” the 3 layers of a quilt (for those of us who do not use a longarm/frame set-up), her feather construction ‘rings a bell’ with me! (See link).

 Diane Gaudynski. Her books: Quilt Savvy: Gaudynski’s  Machine Quilting Guidebook and Guide to Machine Quilting have been my “go-to” books. Again, her approach to feathers and background fill seem to “click” with my brain wiring! Her influence may be seen in my recent “Coneflower” finish……….007  Her feathering techniques are combined with a  background fill that she is known for as is another gal, Karen McTavish, whose influence may, also, be seen in this, my finish of a year ago (complete post may be found here)…………..

CHALLENGE '14 008   As with most endeavors, there are many ingredients that must come together to make up the “whole” and, unless many different ideas/techniques are tried, one cannot know what works for them and what does not. Karen’s feather approach(es) are varied resulting in several different looks. Check out these tutorial links for more insights……here (for Karen) and here (for Sharon).

As I continue on my fmq path, I have noticed that even my feather interpretationTable runners-b'day gifts 001f has changed as I become an amalgam/mixture of all the different approaches I view/execute and develop my own feather personality!

I do hope that you find a useful ‘nugget’ that will further excite you in the quest for that elusive fmq style you will call your own. Remember, it takes time and it takes practice (that word, again!) but it’s so worth it!!!! So, relax and have fun with all of us who are “out here” with you!!!!

Til next time………….many hugs, blessings and thanks for coming to visit…………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Continuing “Feather Friday”………….

  1. witchylin says:

    Such beautiful feathers.

  2. Beautiful. Happy Valentine’s Day, my dear!

  3. labugaiski says:

    Thanks for the other links! I will be checking them all out this week! I’m learning a lot! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

