This morning was spent……….

Pin basting a client’s quilt. It’s one that I’ve had in my possession since late last Fall as she decides what the stitching approach should be.  037038  The pattern is “Oriental Lanterns” from Fons & Porter’s “Love of Quilting” magazine, March/April 2009. The Spring Grove (MN) guild this gal, and myself, belong to, did this as a “Friendship Block” upon her request. Each block was made with fabrics from our stash but with an Asian feel (her desire) and were signed & dated. It turned out a nicely sized queen-size quilt. She doesn’t want heavy quilting and has asked for an edge to edge (E2E) motif. It will suit this nicely. I see my fave variegated Superior Metallic in its future. I guess you can figure out where I’ll be for the next days.

Chilly frigid weather is what we have here….2F with a windchill that I don’t even want to talk about, so I won’t!!!!

Stay warm (or cool, if that’s what’s happenin’ in your neck of the woods!). Til next time…………………………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to This morning was spent……….

  1. I was wondering what that design might be. Yes, lanterns. How lovely that everyone contributed to this and signed their creations.

  2. Rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary B here
    Sweeeeet. Very cute and wonderful idea. a treasure for sure. Yes, simple is a good idea.
    Stay warm and cozy. today it was 18 degrees here in No Va. Tomorrow it will be 12. goodie
    Next week it will be toasty, in the 30’s!

    • treadlemusic says:

      In the 30’s…..wow! Don’t get a sunburn!/heat-stroke? Just watching the nat’l news….the weather your direction is unreal! I’m gunna’ keep busy quilting, I think. Hugs…………

  3. sending you an email…

  4. Thread crazy says:

    Lovely quilt and yes, friendship quilts are priceless as they hold so many memories. So sorry about the cold your way and I so feel for the east coast. Memories of living up on Lake Erie come flooding back when I see the nat’l news…yes, I walked to school through snow as lived too close to ride bus and we only had one car! I too have pinned two quilts and ready to go but have been working in garden. Was a cool 59-61 today and about same tomorrow, then more rain and the bottom falls out. We probably will have freezing rain first part of week before this is all over with, so thought I’d better dig a bit today/tomorrow. Time for potatoes n past time for onions. Stay warm and just think by this time next month you’ll be in a bit warmer climate.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yeah….saw that Mon/Tues will be low 40’s in Harlingen!!!! -2F here right now! Sigh……am thinking that I might have to stay longer than a few days!!! #2 son & wife coming down, too, at the same time!!!! Have fun digging around in the dirt…..envy………………

  5. Teje says:

    Hi Doren! Beautiful quilt and friendship is surely a treasure! With this/that cold weather quilting is only reasonable thing to do – to warm up our fingers. We have also very chilly weather and freezing wind from the sea, from North. Today it’s changing all the time from sunny to rainy. Yesterday it was heiling again. But I do remember how it’s too hot in summer so I don’t mind. Hugs and kisses my friend! x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      This weather seems to be the “talk of the world”! Quilting is definitely the answer for these days of too hot or too inclement! I know that I can count on “sunny and happy” in your stitchings!!! Bear hugs and blessings to you, distant Friend……………………………………

  6. KerryCan says:

    Okay, so I’m not trying for one-upmanship but, on the mountain near here, the windchill was minus 110 a couple days ago! It was “only” minus 35 here–yikes. Staying inside and making pretty things is the only answer to this winter!

  7. Goodevening! I am going to make me some hot choco, you want some?
    Looks like you will have you quilting job sorted for the next couple of days. Have fun with playing with the shiny threads!
    Bye
    Esther

  8. Michele says:

    As you could guess, I like the blocks and it will be fun to see how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

