A follow-up to a “Win”…………

That I posted about way-ay-ay-ay back at the beginning of last month, and found here, about the “Stripology Ruler”. I had wanted to wait ‘til I had an opportunity to use it and use it I did in preparation for last Monday’s sew-in. The “strings” needed for the raffle quilt (all posted here) needed to be 1” to 1&3/4” in width and this ruler made it so easy!!! It works equally well with fat quarters (18”x 22” pieces) and WOF (width of fabric/44” wide) running yardage. 001 This piece is 1/4 yd by WOF. Fold it again, bringing the bottom fold up to meet the selvage edge.002 Lay the ruler over the fabric matching the lower fold with one of the ruler’s solid white lines (horizontally) and the irregular raw edge on the dotted line (vertically). This last is a 1/4” from the first slot and will be cut to straighten the leading edge. 003 

004

After cutting the first straight edge, determine the width of the needed strips. (This may be the 2&1/2” width used for most bindings). 005 The marked black squares across the bottom are at 2& 1/2” intervals so you would cut those marked slots across your fabric piece resulting in the correct width and without constantly figuring out which slot is the correct measurement.006

The star markings are 1& 1/2” apart so the raw/straightened edge of the fabric piece would be moved to that first slot (in this photo it would be the 19& 1/2” mark) and you would cut, using the next ‘star’ marked slot to the left and so on across your piece. The strips would be a consistent 1& 1/2” width. 004

The 20” width of this ruler (in both directions) makes for quick cutting of a 1/2 (running) yard of fabric for binding strips for a large quilt. Love it!!! The ruler’s non-slip bottom side makes for wonderful stability while cutting!

I can tell that this will be a “go to” piece of quilting “equipment” that will get much use!!!!!! Note:click on any of the above photos to enlarge.

Again, for more info on this, see this link to my post and this link to Lisa’s “Primitive Gatherings” place.

And now………I absolutely must go quilt!!!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A follow-up to a “Win”…………

  1. Rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary B here:
    Wow this is so nifty and handy. I would love to have one of these some day.
    Stay warm Doreen It is super cold and windy here and I have to take dad to the orthopaedic doc today (trigger finger). I will be taking him door to door, and I do not think he is happy about it because he will get another cortisone shot. Oh well. this weather is too cold for really old people.
    Good thing we have sunshine

  2. Diane W says:

    Been using one for years and I love it. In fact I have used it so much it broke at the 9″ mark and I taped it back together. My husband says anything can be fixed with duct tape.

    • treadlemusic says:

      LOL! I couldn’t agree more!!! I have another version of this ruler and was hesitant on my even entering to win it. This one is a tad different….the markings are much more “user friendly” and it’s significantly heavier plastic!!!! I am very impressed!!!!! Love it!

  3. Thanks for the explanation. Now go quilt, my dear.

  4. witchylin says:

    There are some amazing rulers around these days and this one is no exception. Life for quilters is so simple in the 21st century, I wonder what our great grandmothers would have thought of the equipment we have now. I bet they would say it wasn’t a quilt at all without the paper piecing, hand sewing and fabric from old clothing. I know which century I am happy to be living in. 😉

    • treadlemusic says:

      LOL! All very well said!!! I would not be doing this if it weren’t for my machines. My hands won’t allow for the hand stitching I did years ago!!!!!! I’m very thankful, too!!!!

  5. KerryCan says:

    That’s very cool–I love specialized tools like this!

Leave a Reply

