My Saturday “Feather Friday”……….

Continues with a few more names and links of amazing quilters who have influenced my journey. First up is Jamie Wallen of Quilter’s Apothecary. Although his tutorials/expertise is on a frame mounted longarm, his “transferrable principles” have given me a solid foundation upon which to build my feather technique. For some reason, when he stated that a feather plume must meet the spine at a 60 degree angle, it was a “light bulb” moment for me when everything seemed to slip into place! Here are a couple of awesome YouTube videos that demonstrate his approach……https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uQ54VCaw3iY, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1yF0x83WM0w & https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cVoLlHGk1hI. These are fairly lengthy videos but well worth the time invested!

Another quilter I would mention is Judi Madsen, Green Fairy Quilts and author of the book Quilting Wide Open Spaces. Misc 003

Her quilting techniques are simple and straight forward. Misc 008

Here’s a link to a video of hers: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXLCQj—eSs.

And, lastly, is Patsy Thompson. Her video, here, is yet another ‘take’ on feather motifs.

By watching, sketching, practicing and reading each of these experts’ available information, I’ve pulled bits and pieces into my “memory bank” and continue to meld them into something that could only be “ME”!!!!! It takes time and I’m lovin’ the journey!!!!! Now, let’s head for the machines…………………………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Saturday “Feather Friday”……….

  1. mtetar says:

    Great Post and sharing they’re all great links. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  2. Thread crazy says:

    Great information and thanks for taking time to share. I’ve seen some of Jamie Wallen’s before and he does beautiful work and makes it look so simple! Just guess I need to draw more!!

  3. labugaiski says:

    Thanks for sharing this information! I have been checking them out a lot of great information! Thanks for all the help! Lorie

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am so glad they are of help for you. I have more and will complete(?) the series next Saturday. I have never taken an “in person” workshop/lesson but relied on YouTube and blogs for direction. My learning continues just as yours does……..we’re all “in it” together and it’s a fabulous group, hmmmmm????? Many hugs……………

Leave a Reply

