Knitting With Fabric Strips

In an earlier post (https://treadlemusic.wordpress.com/2015/02/20/mondays-meeting/) I showed a rug made with t-shirt strips and here’s an idea using those pieces of “what was I thinking!” fabric that are adding volume to our stashes!!!! Enjoy!!!!!!!! And, please, hop on over to Debby’s place and check out her jottings. She always has the best fmq hints and techniques!!!!!!!

debby quilts

Banner1-TQS-125x125

So, there were enough questions about this, and not enough info on the world wide web, that I decided to write a little tutorial. I hope this is helpful, and clear enough.

I cut fabric strips 1 inch by the width of fabric (usually 40-42 inches.) I did find some recommendations to tear the strips, which they said would result in less fraying. While I agree with this in theory, I don’t like the way the torn strips get all distorted. I like the way the cut strips look. Also, I am a non-pre-washer of my quilting fabric, so none of my strips are cut from pre-washed fabric. I think that it might be more enjoyable to knit with pre-washed fabric. But again, I’m not going there.

I use size 15 needles. I went and bought myself a nice pair of bamboo circular needles, because I like that their ends…

View original post 487 more words

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Knitting With Fabric Strips

  1. Rosemarazzle says:

    Doreen, this does looks very fun. You have to have some pretty shirts though, otherwise it could look icky.
    I have a bag of olden sewing clutter that i found under a sewing stool that I purchased. they have these silver bias tape maker looking things but what came with those thingers was instructions to make strips for a rug of some sort, perhaps crocheted?
    Anyway, I looked at it and thought, oh yea, maybe one day when I break a leg and I am stuck lol
    Thanks for sending me over to The Little Penguin blog.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The bias makers have their place but this is easier as it doesn’t require such prep work……just cut the strips and join them. Glad you found this of interest and, please, do NOT break a leg!!!!!! LOL! Hugs……..

  2. mtetar says:

    I like your idea it is really nice. I have made placemats using that idea but with cotton fabrics strips. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  3. Thread crazy says:

    There’s something called “locker hooking” I believe going on here. It’s something like rug hooking but a but different, using fabric strips. Interesting and may I presume you’re going to try this new method??!! lol….yep same here.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I did locker hooking years ago. It’s done by drawing/pulling fabric strips through a base mesh piece. This is actually knitting (using a set of large needles) and fabric strips…….no base.

Leave a Reply

