A Tale of Two………wall quilts……………..

Yes, these two are finished (as far as I am involved). The tale began here as a refreshing respite from the view of the “white stuff” that is covering the countryside. And, yes, these are “Jack in the Pulpits”.  Now, this matched set looks like this………..004   With a close-up……………005    And the second of this set……………007  The close-up……………. 008

To finish, the reverse/back sides……………….010 013

This was a kit, complete with hand dyed fabrics, from Frieda Anderson…………………..011     As you can see from the pattern picture and the photos of my client’s pieces, the quilting is a very individual interpretation…..neither more ‘right’ than the other!! It felt good to do a bit of the micro-stippling that I was really into several years ago…..see here. And, yes, that tiny stippling was, again, done on my Juki TL2010Q. The feathers and outlining was done on Ms Sweetie (HQ Sweet 16).

Thread: top: Isacord and Invisifil. Bobbin: Connecting Threads Essential Pro Poly

Now, on to the larger quilt of the three-some for this client. Til next time, thanks so much for stopping by, I love to have you visit!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Tale of Two………wall quilts……………..

  1. Gloria says:

    What a breath of fresh air!

  2. Rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary b here:
    Hey Doreen Yes we are sick of winter too bleh. but we have sun today
    These two wall quilts are beautiful. I love the custom quilting

  3. Just stunning Doreen — you are so good with that Sweet 16 – congrats on the finish.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you, Karen. It is a lovely machine. What’s nice about such projects as these is that the techniques I used on these would have worked equally well executed on my Juki (totally) or Bernina 440QE. I really do have a ‘thing’ for feathers (Wendy has been my main inspiration for those!!!!!).

  4. KerryCan says:

    Fabulous! I love that you show the backs of the quilts so we can really appreciate the quilting!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Sometimes the backs have more (quilting) appeal than the fronts, which have color/pattern “distractions”. I guess it depends on your desired focus. The final quilting seems to be my obsession so the backs hold the greatest interest……generally. You are so very welcome!!!!!! Hugs………………

  5. Thread crazy says:

    What a beautiful project – quilting is gorgeous and yes, I like looking at the backs also. Seems like they show the detail a bit more. Hugs to you.

  6. Michele says:

    They both look wonderful!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I really like them, too! I can’t wait for my client to get them (these are two I would love to keep!!!!!!! LOL!!!). Thanks so much….hugs………………….

  7. These are absolutely beautiful! Wow! I would have a hard time giving those back…

Leave a Reply

