THE REVEAL & A GIVE-AWAY……………………

The wait is over!!!!!! Yay!!!!! All the “players” are in place………………………….

blog hop button

Take 1 fantastic quilt book, written by friend, Wendy Sheppard of “Ivory Spring”…. 00 RAQCover                                      (Photo compliments of Landauer Publishing and for a signed copy, please, see Wendy’s blog here)

Add an heirloom ………………………………….013

Add 1 huge dose of inspiration for me (from the above quilt located at the Daughters’ of the American Revolution Museum in Washington,DC) for Wendy’s recreation…………..…………RAQ-IvoryBaltimore                         (Photo compliments of Landauer Publishing)

And you have this…………………………………………..005      Yup, inspiration overload!!!!! The final dimensions are 14&1/2″x21″. The fabric panel on the right is “Radiance” by Robert Kaufman. It’s a silk/cotton that is amazing to sew/quilt with. The panel on the left is a silk home dec fabric I was gifted some time ago and was lurking quietly waiting in my stash for just that right moment……and this was certainly “it”!!!! The embroidery was already in place and it’s fairly obvious how this finish and Wendy’s piece have some similarities…..yes???? Some more quick pics……………………….002

006

Thread: Isacord (top) & Connecting Threads Essential Pro Poly (bobbin). Batting: Hobbs Wool over Hobbs Silk (I am beyond thrilled at the dimension achieved with this combo!!!)

Wendy’s book is filled with side by side photos of the heirloom, museum held, quilts that were the inspiration for her recreations.014 My head is spinning with all the possibilities!!! Whether it’s piecing or more “whole cloth” quilting that “tickles your fancy”, there are as many directions each pattern idea can take as there are readers. The supply lists and piecing directions are clearly laid out for quick reference. Included are quilting suggestions for some of the projects………015 

My eyes went to this “Recreation” of Wendy’s…………………RAQ-OhHappyStars-Styled  ”Oh, Happy Stars! Quilt”

That little birdie with all those swirls……and stars!!! Hmmmmmm…………..

To see/read more about this fab book, visit here.

Well, by now, I’m sure you are just saying “I’ve got to have that book!!!!” and I’m here to tell you the rest of the story ….er, news. There’s a give away!!!!!!!! And here’s the details………………………..Just leave a comment on this post telling me what is your quilting inspiration? What patterns draw you in and why? or any other thoughts you may have. If you are one of my bloggy friends who find themselves in the “quilt appreciation” only category (writing or photography or……..is your ‘thing’), and would like to leave a note but bypass the ‘entry’, just let me know and I won’t count you in! And…..for those who would want to make some new friends…….there are 3 other gals on the “Blog Hop” who are sharing their ‘inspired’ projects from Wendy’s book, also. Here are their names and links………………………….  

Lisa at Love to Color My World

Kay at Kay Harmon’s Blog

Karen at Karen’s Quilts, Crows and Cardinals~~~~Redbird Quilt Company

*******Note: Comments are now closed.*******

There will be 1 winner chosen from each of the 4 blogs (4 book copies given).

Whew!!!!! Well, we can rest easy(?) and wait for the drawing. DH is limbering up those special “contestant winner picking” fingers!!!!!! I wish I could give each of you a copy, but know that you are all very special “winners” in my mind!!!!! Thank you so much for being such faithful readers of my random, and not so random jottings. Now………off to the machine………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

171 Responses to THE REVEAL & A GIVE-AWAY……………………

  1. Karen Goad says:

    would love a copy of that book, since I saw the cover photo I have thought about getting it – my inspiration for quilts are blogs, books, pinterest, I see quilts and then want to make one – sometimes the color grabs me or the pattern

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hello, Karen!!! Glad you stopped by this (early) morning!!! This book will give you hours of wonderful dreaming and inspiration. You are definitely ‘entered’!!! Have an awesome day (ours is going to deteriorate shortly with up to 4″ of snow/drzl mix possible…..but warmer–upper 30’s maybe!!!!). Hugs………………..

  2. Pat in WNY says:

    To quote my friend Heidi, “Wowsa!” Your quilting is over the top! What a fantastic creation! Great inspiration from Wendy’s book, I’ve seen several projects that really look very tempting now that we’re resettled.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am thrilled that you find “inspiration” in these/my project!!! It was beyond-awesome fun to do and there will be more such finishes I can assure you!!!! Thanks so much for popping in!! Hugs comin’ at ya!!!!!!

  3. mtetar says:

    Great Give Away and I would like a copy as well. Be Blessed because you are, Mtetar

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh, Mary……I immediately thought of you with this give-away!!! Your creativity inspires me! The best…………and hugs………..

      • mtetar says:

        Thank you Doreen and please know that your craftsmanship, patience, and willingness to help all inspires me as well. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  4. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! Your quilting looks amazing! And this book sounds and looks so exciting; I would love to win! I feel that my inspiration comes from colours, but I’m not sure if that’s right answer … it has to be a mix of things I seen in blogs, often photo in a magazine (any photo for shapes, colour combinations etc.), sometimes a picture or idea just appears to my dreams and leads to an quilt-idea. Quilting is so interesting. x Teje

    • treadlemusic says:

      Ah yes, Teje…….you and I dream in color and wake up with more ideas than time and energy!!!!! Your sunny/happy approach to the art of quilting would be a perfect match for this publication!!!!!! The best to you, dear long-distance Friend!!!! And, always, hugs………………….

      • Teje says:

        So right my friend. Filled with ideas but no time for sewing and not much Energy. It looks like it may turn to spring here, sunny and not so cold, but it’s still early so we’ll see what next week brings. Hugs! x Teje

  5. Looks like a great book — and WOW what beautiful quilting you’re doing! As for inspirations, I seem to have no end of them. Show me a pretty block or piece of fabric, and I can take it from there. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Good morning!!! Great comment! You and I share the same ‘outlook’ on our surroundings (as, I’m sure, do all artists regardless of genre!). Hugs winging their way to you…………………………….

  6. Carol W says:

    My inspiration is a design that attracts me. Colors are also important. I loved seeing your quilting!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Welcome to my little bloggy ‘home’! I find it so fascinating how we each “see”/interpret things so very differently! Your comment is a very insightful one and is truly the “seed” from which much art springs. Hugs………..

  7. witchylin says:

    The book looks fabulous but your gold feathers are even more so. It really does look wonderful. It is obvious why you like the book and the ideas it gives you. Amazing how one quilt design can open up a whole world of different quilts. Almost all quilters are people who can take inspiration from one another and turn the same design into something so individual.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Very well said!!!! And I wish you the best in this give-away! I know you would do wonderful things with the ideas in this publication!!!!!!! Hugs…………………

  8. Diane O says:

    Your quilting is amazing, I’m in awe. The quilts and ideas in this book are wonderful. I find quilting inspiration everywhere, but nature s at the top of the list. It’s doing a beautiful snow dance here in Michigan today. Thanks.

  9. Julie A. says:

    Love this book, great quilts….my inspiration are the colors

    • treadlemusic says:

      Color is a primary motivator for me, also. (And the first question I ask when a new car, or whatever, is purchased……”what color is it??”…..). This book defines “Inspiration”

  10. Blogs like yours give me oodles of inspiration! You’re quilting prowess leaves me speechless!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m truly humbled by your kind words…… It has taken me many years to figure out what part of the quilting process is “me” and, since I figured it out about 4 years ago, I’ve set to practicing and following people like Wendy for direction, technique and inspiration. To say I love it is even an understatement!!!!!! Thanks so much for taking time to leave your sweet words! Hugs………………….

  11. Count me out of the give-away since I’m one of those writer/photographer fans of yours.

    But I can understand why any of your quilting friends would be delighted to win this. That Oh My Stars quilt is charmingly adorable.

  12. Denise Cabral says:

    I love looking at blogs and websites for inspiration on quilting!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I totally understand and agree!!!! Blogs and websites have been my only “tutoring” in this art, as I have never taken an “in person” workshop on fmq/quilting. Hugs……

  13. Delaine says:

    This book looks awesome! I get inspiration from books, blogs, and every where else that has pictures and or patterns of beautiful quilts. Thanks!

    • treadlemusic says:

      And I’m sure you experience “inspiration overload” frequently!!!!!! Hehehe……………… Thanks so much for stopping by…………..

  14. Pat in NW Iowa says:

    I’m wondering what the quilting is on the museum quilts…hoping it is visible in the photos in the book. As a ten-year longarmer (mostly for customers), I love to look at quilting. And a piece of fabric usually gives me an almost instant visual of a quilt idea. Designs in fabric inspire quilting, customer’s applique inspires quilting, designs in carpet and on walls inspire quilting…and the list goes on.
    Pat in (sleeting this morning) Iowa

    • treadlemusic says:

      The quilting really isn’t visible in the photos but there is adequate info on each to locate them for more info. As one who is obsessed/passionate about the final quilting (stitching), I draw my inspiration from the exact same sources—-letting the quilt “speak to me”.
      Fine snow mixed with frzg drzl here in S.E. MN (30 miles due West of LaCrosse,WI). Thanks so much for your visit!!!!!

  15. labugaiski says:

    First I would like to say love you quilt! The quilting is amazing hope to get that good one day. Second please don’t put me in the count, I already have her book, it is a wonderful book, good luck to all. Third I would like to know what machine do you use for your quilting? I just got a avante 18 about 6 month ago and have been learning how to quilt with it. I have been learning how to quilt with rulers and alittle FMQuilting, I have been practicing, practicing & practicing have been working on how to do small fill ins is there a secret on how to got them so small? Is there any books or any place I can go to help me with the small fill in? Love your blog keep up the great work?

  16. carolyn montgomery says:

    i love all things quilty and get inspiration from every where.

  17. Mary says:

    Wendy’s work is breathtaking and you have done the pattern so beautifully too. Those fabrics are stunning. Please do not add my name as I am a happy owner of the book!

  18. Laura says:

    Beautiful quilting Doreen! How big is the piece? Inspiration is all around us in my opinion! Carving in an old piece of furniture was my inspiration for the quilting in one piece I made. Like you, I haven’t taken classes in FMQ either. I found a couple of books were my primary source of piecing instruction back in the 90’s. My answer to, “Quilt as desired” was to fall asleep with Harriet Hargrave’s , “Heirloom Machine Quilting” by my bed, and then there was Diane Gaudynski’s, “Guide to Machine Quilting”. These ladies could quilt the way I dreamed . . . These days the web provides tons of inspiration. Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy of Wendy’s book. Her “Thread Talk” is another wonderful source of inspiration!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Those names/books/sources you mentioned are definitely in my “library” of quilting how-to’s! Thank you for asking about the finished size of my piece (I thought I had included that!!! My bad!!!). It’s 14&1/2″x 21″. A size that’s easily manipulated on a DSM, sit-down machine or a long-arm (although there would need to be additional considerations in place for such micro/mini stitching if using a long-arm, I would think). Thanks so much popping by!!!!!!

  19. Mary C says:

    Beautiful quilting! What inspires me….depends on my mood–sometimes it is color or fabrics. Sometimes it is a architecture, carpet pattern, tile motif, anything that has an unusual or repeatable shape can be my inspiration. This book looks amazing!! Thanks for sharing~

    • treadlemusic says:

      This book is really excellent….for its pattern ideas and just as a “read”! The lay-out is truly reader-friendly and the appliques are given 100% so no enlarging, etc, is needed! Thanks so much for your visit and, please, come again!!!!!!

  20. Karen in Breezy Point says:

    I love the cover quilt and it looks like there is more wonderful inspiration inside! I get inspired everywhere–online, at the quilt shop, at retreats and quilt guild meetings–I just want to make it all!

    • treadlemusic says:

      YES!!!!!! I want to make them all, too!!!! I almost get in a “muddle” when I focus on all the possibilities that are ‘out there’!!!!!!! LOL!!!!

  21. LeAnne L says:

    I love anything with scrolls, and piecing and applique just go together, so this book is definitely on my wish list because the cover quilt meets all three of my gotta-have-it criteria.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Hello!!!!! I agree, that cover ‘sells’ the book!!!! It would be my 2nd choice for a quilt inspiration (and I have a few ideas already floating around!!!!!!!).

  22. barbara woods says:

    I love it all ,but want to make a applause quilt like those in this book

  23. Oh my goodness Doreen — you super talented, creative, inspiring woman you!! WOOHOO! I just love what you’ve created from Wendy’s awesome design. Congratulations!! Please don’t put me in the draw (I already have and absolutely LOVE Wendy’s book). I just wanted you to know how fabulous your design and quilting are and how much I love the jump from original design to Design according to Doreen!! xo girlfriend – great job!! Karen

    • treadlemusic says:

      So noted, dear equally inspiring, talented, creative, sweet bloggy Friend!!!!! Wendy’s request really did allow for an opportunity to tap into my inner “quilty obsession” with the ‘whole cloth’ approach!
      I just “hopped” over to your place and behold…..great minds……………….your “Feathered Garden Lattice” holds a very special place in my “Inspired by” list!!! You rocked it!!!! NEVER TOO MANY FEATHERS!!!!!!!! Hugs………………

  24. Pat Evans says:

    Your interpretation of the wall hanging is wonderful. I found Wendy through another blog hop and found her fmq tutorials and blogs to be very helpful.
    I get inspiration from blogs and books. As you responded to one of the commenters, it can become inspiration overload. And I spend too much time on blogs when I should be quilting. But it’s so much fun to see what everyone is doing. I love playing with color.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes……I really can understand the ‘time’ thing when it comes to spending time on the ‘net. And here I am ……yet today!!!! LOL! Wendy’s “Thread Talk” has been my ‘go-to’ for the last 4+ years and the learning curve remains!!!! I’m so glad you found your way to my little corner of the bloggy world!!!! Hugs…………………..

  25. cdahlgren2013 says:

    I am loving your work too! Most of my quilt inspiration comes from the person I’m giving the quilt to. I watch for quilts that I think the person might like and change colors, etc to what suits the recipient. Sometimes I just see a quilt and think, that looks like George! CDahlgren at live dot com

    • treadlemusic says:

      And I’m sure that the recipient can feel all that’s gone into the creation of the gifted quilt/item!!! These pieces of art really are given with a piece of our heart(s). Hugs……..

  26. Lisa Marie says:

    I find inspiration all over the place, and sometimes from nothing that I can identify! Those “out of the blue” inspirations are sometimes the best! Patterns that I can add some element of scrappiness to are often the ones that draw me in. With fabric, more is more as far as I’m concerned!

  27. Amy Johnson says:

    Beautifully done! You know I love the wholecloth! My inspiration comes from many places, but one that’s easily named is the work of William Morris.

  28. Donna W says:

    This book looks fantastic! I love how she shows pictures of her inspiration quilts. Also, she gives suggesting for how to quilt the piece. I really enjoy this. So many say “quilt as desired”. My inspiration comes from other quilts and/or books. Thanks for the chance to win a copy of this book.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by! And this book is awesome from the start of the project to the selection/help in choosing the final stitching motif(s).

  29. bluedove2014d says:

    Wow–your quilting is awesome, as is Wendy’s! How could one not be inspired by seeing your work? The whole book is inspiring to me but I especially love the Calico Trails quilt, I like traditional quilts with room for feathered quilting. Ok..I’m going to go dream about being able to quilt as well as you and Wendy and the other bloggers. LOL And practice, practice practice.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am thrilled that you have stopped by and find my little bloggy home fun!!! Wendy has truly given me the “tools” to bring about the feather (and other) finishes/motifs that I love so much. Thanks so much for your visit and I hope you come again!!!! Hugs…….

  30. Sarah J. says:

    I tend to be inspired by the person I’m making the quilt for, but I love browsing blogs to gain even more inspiration and ideas! Thanks!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The “personal connection” is a very important one and certainly goes a long way in making all the necessary choices in creating that very special finish! I’m happy that you came my way today and hope you’ll stop again!!!

  31. Jackie says:

    Your quilting is gorgeous!! I love the colours people choose, fabrics and mostly I thing the quilting. Thank you for the chance.

  32. Maryellen says:

    Wendy certainly inspires me, and my improved FMQ is proof of that. I’m inspired by so many things, from nature to great fabric to great patterns. It’s so much fun! My bucket list of quilts to make keeps growing.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Ooooo….that “bucket list” does seem to grow, doesn’t it!!!!! LOL! So wonderful to ‘hear’ that your fmq expertise has shown progress! I’m sure that you are being rewarded for the time you have spent at the machine!!!!

  33. janieingv says:

    My inspiration comes from my blogs that I visit regularly and follow. Today i have made new friends as well while looking into this book that has the most amazing and lovable quilts both on the cover and inside! I would dearly love to have this one. Hugs…

    • treadlemusic says:

      I do hope that one of the copies of this fab book finds its way to you!!!!!! It constantly amazes me at the number of off-the-hook-crazy-good quilters there are (who are not known!!!!)! This art-form is the one that has given me the most fulfillment. Thanks for your visit!!!!!!

  34. Gunilla says:

    Most of my inspiration comes from reading blogs! People are so generous, sharing inspiration and bits and pieces of their lives, tutorials etc. Magazines and books are another source of inspiration, thank you for the chance!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so very welcome!!!! The quilting community/’family’ is the best!!!!! I have found the same experiences as you and know that I’m very blessed to be a part of it! Hugs…….

  35. Doreen, you’re quilting is astounding!! The book looks fabulous – my inspiration comes from lots of different sources; tiles, things I see on the tv, old books and magazines……….it all ferments in my brain and eventually makes its way out!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      LOL! I love your phraseology!!! I know that one of my inspirational sources is YOU!!!!!! Thank you for being such a great bloggy friend!!!!!! Hugs………

  36. Thread crazy says:

    Aww, what a beaut! The gold quilting is fabulous – love it! This is one book I hadn’t seen but would love to have it as I love heirloom quilts. Your quilting itself has been an inspiration to me as I’m hoping one of these days I’ll get there. My inspiration come from a few different things; one, color, two from fabric and the textures of the fabric, and another is nature. I love to take pictures of flowers and animals. BTW, I did my first feather and it turned out pretty good! Hugs to you today my friend…

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yay you!!!!!! Take a photo and e-mail it to me!!!!! I’m so excited!!!!!!! Color is such a huge influence to me, too!!!! So much sets the mood or reference point!!! Hugs……….

  37. wowilikethat1 says:

    Your quilting is stunning. Thanks for sharing. Color influences me and as well as lots of open spaces. Thanks for the giveaway too. I’ve also shared your giveaway on my Giveaway List for sewers & quilters at wowilikethat.com. Thanks again. (debbie at wowilikethat dot com)

    • treadlemusic says:

      Quilting those spaces is what I look for, also!!! (no surprise, hmmm???) I thank you for stopping by and so appreciate your kind comment!!! Please, come back another day!!! Hugs……………

  38. Carrie P says:

    Wow! Your quilt is stunning. I get my inspiration from other bloggers, quilt books and nature.

  39. Kathy Davis says:

    My quilting inspiration always comes from what ever charity I can make a quilt for. Sharing my quilts is why I sew.

  40. quilterpt says:

    Wow! Your quilting is exquisite! What a beautiful job you did. I am often inspired my things from my stash, or something I happen to come across on the internet, like your piece…just beautiful!

  41. Cynthia says:

    My inspiration for quilting comes from old quilts, new quilts, designs in nature and architecture, and much more! Thanks for sharing your incredible work!

  42. Doreen Fee says:

    Beautiful work! Love your blog, very inspirational.

  43. Kathleen says:

    My inspiration comes from my online quilting friends. They keep me going as a learner. I started to learn quilting in 2012 and feel as though I’m still learning. But I’m having fun in the process! And your inspiration overload is loads of beautiful!! Thanks for the opportunity to win Wendy’s book.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s a wonderful addition to any quilter’s library!! And thanks so much for your kind comment! The blogs have been my primary “teacher” for the last 4 years so I do understand your thoughts. Please, stop back soon!!!!

  44. Pam Pailes says:

    I’m inspired by fabric and colors. Give me a fabric that catches my fancy, and I’m off to every fabric store in driving distance (and online) to get just the right accompaniments. I confess, I buy more fabric in person, because I love to hold the fabric in my hand and see the colors up close. Once I have the fabrics, then I find or create a pattern to suit them. Eventually…. I free motion quilt my own work on my home machine, but I long to be able to quilt like you do. Whole cloth quilting fascinates me, but I just haven’t been brave enough to try it. You have a wonderful gift!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Pam…..I am still intimidated by a fresh piece of unstitched fabric!!!! In my mind, I break it into smaller pieces/quadrants and start with a central single idea/motif….and stitch it!!! That breaks the ice and the fmq seems to start flowing. Here’s a link that might give you some tips (doodling in a sketch book has been my best precursor to actually stitching!) : http://www.craftsy.com/blog/2014/08/how-to-make-a-wholecloth-quilt/ Please, stop back another time as we continue this journey together!!!!! Hugs……….Doreen

  45. Lynn Brockway says:

    Oh My…your quilting is astounding! I hope to one day achieve that quality of FMQ. thank you for the giveaway, the new book looks fabulous!

  46. VickiT says:

    Oh my gosh! Your quilt is simply GORGEOUS! WOW! It is just beautiful. My inspiration comes from everywhere; reading blogs and quilts from those, from books, and the few quilt shows I go to locally.

  47. Your quilt is phenomenal as usual. You said the embroidery was already there – do you mean those gold swirls were there and you QUILTED AROUND AND THROUGH THEM?!!! Also, I love that you are using it for your blog header.
    I am like a lot of the other commenters – so many things inspire me, I will never get to them all. And for those of us of a certain age who had to grow up in a world with only tiny black and white illustrations of art, the internet world is a feast that keeps serving up more and more ideas!
    What is inspiring me most lately is photographs of the nature around my home, where the subject is in focus but then the background takes on beautiful abstract shapes.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Well said! Sometimes it seems a tad overwhelming to my creative juices! LOL! And yes I stitched around and through the embroidery on the left panel. Hugs as always comin’ at ya!!!!

  48. Garilyn says:

    I’m not sure about inspiration, but I’m usually drawn to bright colors and I really like pinwheels/half-square triangles.

  49. Chris says:

    Sometimes it’s all you wonderful designers that inspire me. Other times it’s the bird feeders outside my window and the trees I walk through everyday.

    • treadlemusic says:

      And, perhaps, it’s the 2 in tandem that come together and work their “magic”, hmmm? In all the responses, there is a common thread that seems to be pervasive and that is the inspiration of the Lord’s awesome creations!!!!!! I’m so pleased you stopped by!!! Please, come again………………….

  50. Sartenada says:

    Hi Doreen. It seems to be fantastic book. Its pictures are very inspiring. Thank You Presenting it.

  51. Carolyn says:

    Hi Doreen, my inspiration is rather “who” than “what”. Wendy has been my inspiration for many years and has been instrumental in my passion for free motion quilting. I eat, sleep and drink my passion (fortunately I am retired and can spend the time quilting as much as I like). I love all designs but I have to say feathers and swirls are my absolute fave! I have had a quick look at your work and it is stunning! I love your wholecloth rendition. I’ve never tried using wool and silk batting together, but you’ve inspired me! By the way I’m a new follower of your blog. Kindred spirits! Thank you for the chance to win this beautiful book of Wendy’s.

    • treadlemusic says:

      A very warm “Welcome” to you, Carolyn!!! Like you, I’m retired and am blessed to spend my days in my quilting studio stitching and dreaming away!!!
      I have done projects where I’ve use just silk or just wool batting and I’ve doubled up with one of those over 80/20 but the most wonderful combo seems to be this one……wool (exceptional loft) over silk (additional loft/’support’) both remaining soft after dense stitching. It took a bit of getting used to the “loft” and handling it, though. Looking forward to your next visit!!!! Hugs……………………..

  52. Lynn says:

    Sometimes it is the fabric that inspires me but I do like quilts based on traditional designs and seeing quilts of that kind always inspire me.

  53. Greta says:

    Love the Oh, Happy Stars quilt. I find quilting inspiration from nature, art, architecture, and other quilters! Thanks for a chance to win.

  54. Looks like a great new book. Your quilting is inspiring.

  55. Deb says:

    I would absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE to make the cover quilt with that little birdie! I’ve enjoyed the blog hop and hope at one of them I’ll win Wendy’s wonderful book!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I do, also!!! That cover quilt is just the neatest/cutest and so “Wendy”!!!!! with so many possibilities for the rest of us!!!!! Thanks so much for stopping by!!!!

  56. Laura says:

    I would love to win this book – it looks so good! I am a newbie quilter and thanks for the chance to win! I mainly get inspiration from blogs like yours!

  57. LINDA says:

    HI, MOST OF MY INSPIRATION COMES FROM NATURE+OTHER QUILTER FRIENDS!
    THANKS FOR SHARING A GREAT GIVEAWAY!
    HAPPY STITCHING!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Those 2 influences seem to be the top ones!!!!! (Me, too!!!) And you’re so welcome….it was so my privilege to take part in this ‘hop’!!!!! Hugs……..

  58. Linda Webster says:

    Nature is a great source of inspiration for me. Once a week I get together with two of my quilting friends to sew and we inspire each other to try new techniques and patterns.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I envy you your little gatherings!!! As much of a “social butterfly” as I am, I spend most every day (9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.) at my machine(s) quilting. I treasure my quilting buds!!!!! Thanks so much for stopping by!!!!! Hugs……..

  59. Barb Skinner says:

    Anything to do with nature draws me in so the first thing I noticed was the little red bird in the upper right corner of the book cover quilt, it reminds me of the cardinals we saw in Arizona, and yes, Hawaii, thanks for the giveaway!

  60. Linda "Cookie" Lawrence says:

    Doreen, your quilting is beyond words. Thanks for the chance to win such a great book giveaway. What a wonderful birthday (03-03) bonus should I be the lucky winner. Love the Ivory Baltimore wall hanging.

    • treadlemusic says:

      That “Ivory” wall hanging immediately caught my eye!!!!! Two-color quilts hold an attraction for me anyway and this one is stunning. I’m thrilled you stopped by and, please, come again!!!!!

  61. KerryCan says:

    What a wonderful concept for a book! As you know, the traditional holds great fascination for me and it makes me happy to see that the book focuses on honoring the traditional, and moving forward from it. I like to think that my own quilts have done that. Now, about the gold and white quilt of yours–it is stunning! In the panel on the left, was the gold printed on the white? And then you stitched to showcase it? Amazing!

    • treadlemusic says:

      The panel on the left is a piece of home-decorating silk embroidery that was gifted to me a year ago by a quilting bud. The fabric background is a super light shade of sage green (with lots of sheen). The gold thread used in the embroidery was a perfect match for the gold “Radiance” fabric……so that’s the “rest of the story”! Wendy’s book is truly a very special one….the way it pulls inspiration from museum quilts of yesteryear.

  62. Jess says:

    I tend to go for traditional style blocks (mostly squares!) but use some modern fabrics; often using one larger print novelty fabric and then some blenders to go with it.

  63. JoAnn Lee says:

    Doreen, This quilting project is amazing. I keep looking at it with awe. You do a beautiful job with your quilting. I treasure every project you have completed for me. My inspiration comes from our quilt groups, books, patterns, my love of fabric and sewing, and your encouragement. Thanks so much.

  64. mumbird3 says:

    OMG love the quilting….that is the problem I have now…how to quilt and make them look half as gorgeous as the ones you show!!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m constantly cruising the ‘net looking for interesting motifs (and just keeping my eyes open for all that surrounds me). The biggest help, for me, is when I bought a sketch book from Walmart and started doodling in it. Books by Angela Walters, Karlee Porter, Diane Gaudynski, Karen McTavish, Judi Madsen AND OF COURSE……..Wendy Sheppard and her “Thread Talk” tutorials. LuAnn Kessi put me onto the sketch book ‘thing’ (see hers: http://luannkessi.blogspot.com/2013/06/from-my-sketch-book.html ). This reply would not be complete w/o the most important advice…..practice, practice, practice (sorry, but it’s the only way!!! “Osmosis” really doesn’t work!!!!!).

  65. Elaine says:

    Love the cover quilt! Thanks for the great giveaway.

  66. Mary says:

    My inspiration comes from everything around me….love the book!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Your head must be swimming with ideas (mine, too!!!). Thanks so much for stopping by and I do hope you pass by this way again…………hugs………….

  67. Kathie L says:

    Your interpretation went WAY beyond anything I would imagine. I love to use books and patterns as a beginning to my design process.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I seem to be seeing quilts in terms of how they would look as whole cloth quilts these days. I’m glad you enjoyed seeing my interpretation! Please stop by again!!!! Hugs…..

  68. Michele says:

    Your piece is really fabulous. Congrats on a job well done. And I too was drawn to Wendy’s cover quilt. The colors are so me. I’m finding inspiration these days in some totally off the wall places and hope to at some point to develop them into quilts.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comment! I really understand the “balancing act” that an artist (of any genre) finds challenging. Life’s daily responsibilities often collide with those creative nudges and choices have to be made. I look forward to seeing those future projects that are swirling in your head!!!!! Hugs……..

  69. Ann Pierce says:

    Inspirations? The world… blogs, nature, museums, children..

  70. Sarah says:

    Wow, I am blown away by your quilt! For me, colors inspire the patchwork, and the patchwork inspires the quilting design. I am more of a handquiting gal (tried free motion quilting for the second time yesterday — and there was progress, at least I didn’t cry this time!), but eager to learn what I can.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yeah…..crying is kinda not good!!! So thrilled that you stopped by and I do hope you come again!!!!! Thanks so much for the kind comment. My hands no longer allow me to do the hand stitching I used to ;-(

  71. MerryBeth Grindahl says:

    Your gold and white puffy just tickled me. It is gorgeous and a technique I want to try soon. (Or is it blue and black. Silly me.) I love quilt shows, color, and belong to several Facebook sites. That book is fantastic. I love books when I have a fabric I am ready to use, but the idea isn’t quite formed.

    • treadlemusic says:

      LOL! Guess it is what you see (unlike the dress!!!!!!). The 2 layers of batting really make a difference!!! (wool over silk) Keep dreamin’……………………………

  72. Martha J says:

    Where do I get inspiration? From so many people like you who have mastered the quilting of motifs and incorporating so many designs into a project that is so absolutely beautiful. Wow, I hope I can do that someday.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I really think the “stars” aligned with this one!!! I love the warmth of the gold and this fabric is awesome to work with!!!! Thanks for “popping” in!!!! Please, come again! Hugs…………….

  73. patricia stroup says:

    The white and gold embroidery made me want more. Your quilting is incredible. I love to free motion quilt….my goal…to approach your expertise…

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’ve had a lot of time, over the past 2 years, to devote to learning/practicing (retirement is awesome!!!!). I definitely have not arrived but am headed in the right direction (IMHO!). Hugs to you………..

  74. Lori Morton says:

    Am kinda new to quilting…so Easy is my Inspiration..tho am getting more towards Intermediate now too, Inspiration comes from blogs, Friends, Colors…& Patterns sometimes, are just the right Inspiration for me. Thanks for chance to win this great Book! 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so very welcome, Lori! For me, the biggest thing I’ve learned is that my quilting direction/likes have had dramatic changes over the years. I used to hand quilt….loved it!!!! Hand pieced…..loved it!!!! Machine quilting….more love!!!! Piecing (in general) ….it’s ok…hmmmm. Yup, I’ve moved away from piecing and am obsessed with quilting…..whole cloth or using linens or whatever! Just so I can stitch/quilt!!! This has happened in the last couple of years only!!! Surprised me!!!! So…..always be open to your changing “tastes”!!!! Hugs……….

  75. Marilyn S says:

    Inspiration comes to me through blogs like this and lately….many ideas come through Pinterest, too. I have a large library of books and magazines devoted to quilting that i’ve collected over almost 20 years that i refer to regularly, too. I love your blog and book and would love to own a copy of it!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Consider your name entered!!! Believe it or not….I just set up a Pinterest account just a couple of weeks ago…….I know, a tad behind the curve!!! Glad you find enjoyment in my random jottings!!! Hugs……

  76. Vicki Sprain says:

    My quilting inspiration comes from a number of places: Facebook posts, blogs, my ever growing library of quilting books & magazines and going to quilt shows and soaking up all the creativity I see! Your quilt is so pretty! Thank you for sharing your creativity with us! Wendy’s book is on my list to add to my library too!

    • treadlemusic says:

      That book is definitely “5 star” and packed with inspiration regardless of the direction you take in quilting style. So happy you stopped by and happy stitching!!!! Hugs……..

  77. Janie says:

    I draw inspiration from quilt magazines, creative blogs and Mother nature. I have been quilting for over 20 years and I learn something new all the time. Thank you for a great giveaway.

  78. Susan Ikin says:

    Hi Doreen, like many others, pinterest, blogs and books are sources for my inspiration, along with some quilts I see in real life. I am kind of just starting out after years of looking and collecting, and love the quilt on the cover of this new book. I aspire to quilt at least half as well as you – your quilting is pretty inspirational too.

  79. Julie Knutson says:

    I have been reading your blog and Ivory Spring for a long time and love the work that both of you do! Someday I hope to free motion quilt like the pros! My inspiration will always be my mom who taught me to sew. She was still at her sewing machine at age 92. After that I love to look at the quilts that others have made to inspire me. I would love the book and thanks for all you do!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Julie…..welcome!!!!! I’m so glad you commented!!!! Wendy has been an inspiration for so many!!! Me, too!!!! Please, stop again!!! Hugs…………………

  80. I’m so glad I discovered your blog, via FB! Hmm. Inspiration. It’s everywhere! As a photographer, quilter, designer, my eyes are always open and inspiration can be as simple as the crack in a leaf or as complex as the design in an antique matelasse’ bed covering! Oh, and then there are books, Pinterest, FB, and blogs of talented quilters like you! 😉 This piece is gorgeous and inspiring, and I’d love to be included in your drawing!

  81. Janna says:

    I am really drawn to Americana stars & stripes quilts. I like to play with nontraditional color combinations as well.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I would love to see some of your “non-traditional” color combos!!!!!! Going ‘out of the box’ for something fresh is always welcome to me!! Glad you stopped by. Hugs……..

  82. Jen B says:

    My inspiration comes from who or what a project is for, last year I made a quilt that I would never make for myself, but I knew my friend would love it.

  83. Pingback: Recap: Recreating Antique Quilts blog hop #2 | Ivory Spring

  84. Gini says:

    I generally make a quilt for a specific person, so they are my inspiration. I’ve been able to explore many different techniques and styles trying to connect the quilt with the person. Your quilting is lovely.

  85. Karin says:

    Lovely quilting…thanks for the detailed description of what you used. Yes, the book looks so inspiring…would love to get stuck into it.

  86. Kathy h says:

    Beautiful quilts and I have not seen any radiance yet so will have to look for some. I get a lot of inspiration from the blogs I follow and the quilters in my quilt group.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Kathy! So glad you stopped by. Mill House Quilts will mail Radiance to you. My photo is pretty accurate for color. Just call them. I’ll be drawing the winner in a while.

Comments are closed.