Engineer vs. Artist: Sneak Peeks

Continuing the FMQ love and feather frenzy, I share with you, my friends, a very important/primary influence in my quilting journey……Miss Wendy, one awesome stitcher and sweet friend………

IMG_9671

Ivory Spring

Hello Friends, I meant to check in yesterday, but I had an Engineer vs. Artist moment (thus the name of the quilt for now), and the Artist won.  You see, when piecing is involved, I am all engineer because of the precision aspect of things.  Then, when it comes time to decide what to quilt, oftentimes the engineer within me takes over for the efficiency aspect of things, due to project deadlines, and I have to be efficient with what I quilt within the amount of time I have…. but yesterday, the Artist in me won!

I was already late because the piecing took longer – piecing ALWAYS takes longer for me because I am a snail-speed piecer. I knew I had a limited amount of time to quilt the quilt.  I could just quickly quilt an allover motif, and be efficient, or I could go all out and…

View original post 211 more words

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Engineer vs. Artist: Sneak Peeks

  1. Rosemarazzle says:

    thanks for sharing Doreen. Wendy is so incredible. I love everything she makes and creates
    I hope you are having sunshine today
    this morning I went to the doc and got a shingle shot…. what the heck ,right?
    Now I am treadmilling, then I will do some piecing on a baby quilt 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      PUH—LEEZE……do some treadmilling for me, too!!! LOL!!!!! Overcast, windy 34F and snow piles everywhere with another storm forecast for Saturday night! Yuk! No stitching yet today……cherry pie out of the oven a while ago and a visit with quilty friends this afternoon. Must get to the piano and brush up on some music to play for a short concert at the hospital in Winona next Tuesday!! Am a lot ‘rusty’ on this music but fun stuff…..theme songs from movies primarily….great to play and listen to. Enjoy your afternoon….hugs……..

  2. Gloria says:

    Yes, I could use a little bit nicer weather too. Been walking outside whenever I can all winter, up to almost 3 miles. I know to some that’s not much but more than I have ever done. Yesterday I went out in a down jacket, earmuffs, scarf and gloves, it was darn windy! Today isn’t much better but I’m going anyway!!!

Leave a Reply

