Coming to life………

That’s what happens when a pieced/fused project gets put together in a “sandwich” and some thread is added. Right now, “April Showers” (first shown yesterday, here) is looking quite respectable…………006

I’m using both my Bernina 440 QE (for the blanket stitching, which was done before the 3 layers were put together) and my Juki TL2010Q for all the FMQ. Following the pattern’s directions, the flowers, stems, leaves and raindrops were drawn on paper-backed fusible web, fused and blanket stitched with matching thread colors. The umbrella and boots were cut and adhered to the background using Mettler’s Web Bond TA 101. It is an aerosol that sprays an adhesive web rather than a mist so that unpleasant overspray and inhalation issues are almost non-existent!!!! I use this exclusively when a spray baste is needed. I don’t like the appearance of larger applique pieces that are totally fused. I think they look a bit ‘stiff’ and I didn’t want those pieces to appear so flat.

After sandwiching, I, then, SID (stitch in the ditch) around the outer pieced blocks and appliques using Fil-tec’s Essence Smoke Grey nylon thread. It has very little shine and blends very well. No pressing with a hot iron, though, as the nylon is more heat sensitive than polyester mono- filament. The umbrella’s “ribs” had  gold perle cotton004 couched on to better define them.008

A couching foot would have been dandy but, generally, I’m not one to rush out to buy specialty attachments that are possibly used only once in a while. So, out came my blind hemmer foot………nah…..not quite working. Then I grabbed the edge stitch foot (Bernina #10) and “bingo”…..success!!!!! 001

002003

I’ll have to remember how well this one worked!!!!!

Now, on to some background “rain”……………………..007

I can almost hear the dripping!!!! The border blocks will have to wait a bit…….I wonder what I’ll do??!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Coming to life………

  1. Great photos showcasing your, as always, creative and beautiful art.

  2. witchylin says:

    Don’t you dare do feathers on the border. LOL. I have only done couching on a small Christmas sampler and that was done by hand. It looks great on the umbrella and the perfect foot was found for the job. I like “April Showers” as it is something so different.

    • treadlemusic says:

      No feathers….promise!! In fact….no anything!!! I’m calling it done and have cut the binding and put the label and hanging corners on the back!!! I love it!!!

  3. Raewyn says:

    Transformed completely with lovely thread and thought! I like the sound of the aerosol web bond – it sounds well worth a try.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Dear Friend….I so appreciate your very kind words! That web spray works very well for projects like the ones I’m doing but not so well if it’s used in place of pin-basting. I was reading on a forum today that trying to sew through more than one sprayed layer may cause skipped stitches. Example: spray basting a quilt top, batting AND spraying the backing seems to be too much stickiness for good stitching. To use it to hold applique pieces, though, it’s perfect and the pieces may be moved a re-placed and they still will stick. I love this product!!!!

  4. Thread crazy says:

    Too cute – will have to try the aerosol spray web bond as that’s one I haven’t tried. Some of the gals at shop have used a different brand and quilt through it without much trouble. Love the finished product!!

  5. So cute! I especially love the close lines of the rain — looks like quite a downpour!
    I am also glad to find out about the spray web bond.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you. I had to wonder about my sanity a couple of times. Working with little stems/pieces and fusible web is definitely not my “thing”!!! I think I’m too “caffeinated”!!!!!!!!

  6. Goodmorning Doreen!
    What a cute project!!! I have use the edge foot too for different things. I noticed that it worked very with on big pieces of fabric, but when going over patchwork/seams it “got caught” on the slight bumps. It might be my specific Janome foot that does that and yours might not.
    Hugs
    Esther

    • treadlemusic says:

      No, Esther, that is what happens with mine, also, and that’s the reason I’ve really not used it for other than a “joining”/entredoux(sp?)/heirloom sewing foot. It’s fab for that!!!!!!

  7. Laura says:

    The edge stitch foot for couching! How clever. I’ve thought about playing with couching, but like you did not want to invest in a foot. I will have to keep this in mind. Thanks for sharing. In the meantime, I am practicing feathers (at least 15 minutes/day per a trusted expert!) and after a week am “practicing” on a sacrificial table mat. I am forgiving myself for “clunky” feathers and just moving on. Drawing with a needle is not forgiving . . . so different than following a marked line!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Great!!!!! I don’t know if you have watched any of the free YouTube videos that Jamie Wallen has posted but he has so many good tips on the “finer points” that make the plumes gracefully join the spine. One is that the angle where it joins should be about 60 degrees. This is a good view, too……https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cVoLlHGk1hI It does take time and you are certainly on the path I took!!! I would be the last person to advise “go easy on yourself” (it’s the last thing I ever do to myself….sigh….) but you will get it!!! I’m so happy for you!!!! Hugs…………….

  8. What a fun project! I love those boots 🙂 I really must try machine applique.

  9. Jackie says:

    simply, adorable 🙂

  10. Michele says:

    It’s looking great so far.

  11. KerryCan says:

    I love the way you got the look of rain!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I hadn’t done stitching like that before (although I’ve seen it in different applications) and it was much easier to fill the areas than I anticipated….and the results are perfect! Thank you so much for your confirmation!!!! Hugs…….

Leave a Reply

