Is it “Picnic Time” yet???????

The seasons continue to be in a bit of a battle with last Saturday’s temps in the glorious upper 70s which, then, gave way to rain overnight and into Sunday. Today begins with rain (it really is needed here as moisture has been lacking for a long while) and some serious wind conditions. BUT, it is the perfect day for………….quilt guild meeting!!!!!! There will be photos later, but this little cutie is one of the items I will be sharing. My “Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner” watermelon wall quilt is now complete! (See here for its beginnings)002

Such a fun project and, like “April Showers”, is an exercise in using paper-backed fusible web and blanket-stitching on the edges of the pieces.

003

005

I outlined/echo stitched/SID using Fil-tec’s Essence ‘Smoke Gray’ nylon “thread” with Connecting Threads Essential Pro Poly, 70 wt, in the bobbin. The “ant trails”/meander was done with black CT Essential Pro Poly in the top thread, also. And, for the finish, a quick photo of the backing (always necessary!!!)……………006   Now, is this not the most perfect fabric???????

Picnic weather is sure to come but not this week, as temps will hover at 30F at night and the 50’s for the daytime. But, while I’m waiting there’s much quilting business to be taken care of. Stay tuned.

Thank you all, once again, for your wonderful visits and taking the moments to leave a few words. I treasure them all. Have an awesome week…………………………hugs……..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Is it “Picnic Time” yet???????

  1. Your stitching is perfect, reminds me of the trails ants leave through the sand in one of those Ant Farms. My brother had one when I was growing up and it fascinated me. Was that your inspiration?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Oh yes!!!!! Those vertical ant “farms” that had green plastic end-caps with clear plastic pieces sandwiching the sand in between. That was exactly my memory/inspiration for the ant “trails”!!!!! Thank you so much!!!!!!!!

  2. Jackie says:

    Very cute…love the colors of the watermelon!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Years ago, when I first saw this packet of patterns, this particular one was the motivation to purchase and finally it’s finished…..yay!!!!!! Thank you for stopping by. I hope you’re not totally blown off the planet!!!! LOL!!!!! Hugs…….

  3. Thread crazy says:

    I so love those ants – cute. Yes, we have cooler weather here; had 1/2″ of rain Saturday night, warm temps Sunday, then cool front and was beautiful day here today. Started at 49 and went to around 70. Love these temps…been working in yard and some sewing too, which makes me one happy gal…hugs to you …

    • treadlemusic says:

      We had 1&1/2″ of rain in the last 36 hours. We needed it! I hope to do some more of these month-themed wall quilts to hang in my kitchen. A fun diversion (when I have the moments!!!).

  4. KerryCan says:

    I hope you’re keeping this so you’ll be ready for the picnic when the weather finally changes!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am (at least for now!). I have a spot in my kitchen that works well for the size of these calendar/month wall quilts so I do think they will remain here! I think I need more of them!!! LOL!

  5. Teje says:

    Hi Doreen! This is fantastic! Super fun with watermelon and ants and beautiful colours! Hugs! x Teje

  6. LB says:

    That watermelon quilt is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

