Taming the Lorax……a Finish………

And it’s a good one!!!!!!! (First started here)

011

010007006

004005

008009

014   A peek at the perfect flannel backing!

The “big picture”……………………………..012026   Lots of gorgeous texture!!!!!!

Thread: top-Glide 100% polyester in a gorgeous brilliant yellow!015

 Bobbin-Connecting Threads Essential Pro Poly

Batting-Hobbs Heirloom 80/20 (cotton/poly)

“Sawtooth Swirl” stitching motif.

I think it’s time for a “Super Hero”! Coming soon………..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Taming the Lorax……a Finish………

  1. I have never thought of using flannel for the backing but it sounds like a great idea! Do you wash it first? Or after the whole thing is done?
    It is beautiful! I love the little square blocks of color with lots of white space, between the large Lorax blocks.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I do not, nor does this client, prewash the fabrics. Unless a test shows mega color bleed, I haven’t encountered major issues. I ALWAYS use “Shout” (brand) “color catchers” when washing/drying (many times 2 to 3 of them if intense colors in the quilt…like red). I want the max. shrinkage for the crinkly finished texture. The client picked this up last eve and was delighted!!!! Thanks for popping by!!! Hugs…………….

  2. witchylin says:

    There is a lot going on in this quilt. It will keep a little one entertained for ages. The quilting does look just perfect with the Lorax. It will be a favourite that is for sure.

  3. Rosemaryflower says:

    ABsolutely cute and adorable. I love the colors and blocks and quilting.
    AND you had to show off your Sweet 16… thanks for that hahahahahhaaha
    So nice to gaze upon her.
    I love this finish, Doreen 🙂 ❤️

    • treadlemusic says:

      She’s been such a diva of late……feeling excluded from all the Fb “hubbub” about the popularity of the Juki TL2010Q!!!!! Sigh……..what I put up with!!!! LOL!!!!! Hugs…….

  4. I love the bright fabric. The vivid hues remind me of fabric I sewed into a smock top (remember those?) back in the 70s.

  5. Thread crazy says:

    Someone was really excited with this quilt I’m sure! Turned out precious. I too religiously use Shot’s Color Catchers! Best product out there for collecting any bleeds from fabrics. The crinkles created once washed I believe are what makes a quilt!! Just love to take a fresh washed quilt out of the dryer and feel the textures! Great job.

  6. Raewyn says:

    Great finish! Such a fun quilt…and wonderful quilting 🙂

  7. Jackie says:

    Love it, so bright and cheerful..and lots to look at 🙂

  8. Very cute. I have another Lorax quilt to do and I just might use that yellow thread too.

Leave a Reply

