When does “thread/tension testing” go beyond “testing”????

After 5 minutes, 10 minutes, an hour????  

 

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to When does “thread/tension testing” go beyond “testing”????

  1. catpatches says:

    It would depend on the quilt. I’d spend more time on a quilt I was making for someone else. Ten minutes seems reasonable. An Hour? No way. I’d be looking for different threads or a different needle if I couldn’t get it adjusted within ten minutes or so.

  2. witchylin says:

    catpatches I am with you, 10 minutes maximum. As I have more than one machine if I couldn’t get things right on one after 10 minutes I would be using one of the other machines. Quilting for other people I would spend a whole 10 minutes but if it was for me, 5 minutes then change machines. My ancient Frister+Rossmann holds the tensions better than the brand new F+R that I bought last year. I find it very unstable. The tension goes out while I am in the middle of FMQ without any warning so no amount of testing is going to correct that fault. 😦

  3. made me laugh… I think you just enjoy playing, and you *call* it testing… 😉

  4. jennyklyon says:

    Funny you should write this…. I have been working on tension all morning and early afternoon-about 4 hours. Changed machines even. Grrr.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Eooo……..icky…… Had an issue a few days back (with my Juki) while using thread I’ve used many times before….absolutely no clue what the problem was. At the moment I’ve got Glide on the machine and it’s like a “hot knife through butter”!!! I guess that’s why my 5 min. turned into more than 1 hr. of total FUN!!!!! I do hope your problem goes away like mine did!!!!!!!!

  5. see and this is what I call bonus practice…

  6. KerryCan says:

    At some point, you’ve moved from testing to frolicking! 😉

  7. You’re home! I hope you had a great trip.

  8. Looks like you were having way to much fun, ha ha!

Leave a Reply

