Design wall Monday…..Progress………….

Stitching with a vibrant, deep purple Coates & Clark Trilobal poly, 40 wt and Ms Sweetie is having a time of it! All’s going well until I stitch on the purple batik borders (which means I’m stitching on 2 layers + batting of batik…..yes, the backing is that same purple batik) and the residue in the batik layers cause the stitches to either skip or knot up in a weird way. The short of it is that I have to stop, break thread, check the bobbin and, sometimes, take out a few majorly unbalanced stitches before beginning again! Ugh!!!!!! I should have had this done by lunch but……………………………

003

005

004

006

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Design wall Monday…..Progress………….

  1. witchylin says:

    I am sorry you are having problems with the batik fabric. However the quilting design is lovely and perfect with the top. It is a nuisance when you have to keep stopping and starting.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Well put!! LOL! The nuisance value is quite high……..I think I’ve figured out part of the problem. Will explore further tomorrow. Will finish this and throw the rest of the spool, though!!!! Hehe…………………

      • witchylin says:

        I must add C & C thread have given me a couple of problems recently. I used a pretty blue shade on a baby quilt, talk about stopping and starting! In the end it was all taken out and a King Tut thread used instead. The fabric was a smooth solid white so it certainly wasn’t the fault of the fabric. I also had a C & C thread that came to an end after machining a small section of my quilt. Just as if it had not been joined together. Rather like knitting wool when you get a knot tied halfway into the ball. 😦

  2. ivoryspring says:

    I do love that purple quilting on black – beautiful stitching.

    • treadlemusic says:

      The purple on the black is what drew me to this combo, too! I’m just so sorry about the quality of the C&C thread that I’ve encountered over the last few months. Haven’t taken the time to investigate. Thanks so much for stopping by and taking a moment to visit!!!! Love it when you pop in!!!! Hugs…..

  3. JoAnn says:

    It looks great to me. Your stitches are so even. I will keep practicing.

Leave a Reply

