Wisteria, blue hydrangeas & other stuff……………

Ever since DH and I made a motorcycle trek to Mystic Seaport (in Mystic, Connecticut) and some lovely spots in the Southeast, I have been in love with Wisteria and blue Hydrangeas. Now, living in S.E. MN, does NOT allow for the growing of Wisteria…….I’ve seriously checked on that one!!!! BUT, hydrangeas are another thing! Before I go any further, I must interject that having a “brown thumb” and little gardening desire results in a lot of brown dead once-living/growing things in my world. Not at all good. 2 years ago, #2 son/DIL gifted me with the most lovely blue Hydrangea for Mother’s Day and I vowed(!?) that it should LIVE!!!! My original post is here. Last summer produced a nicely greened up bush but……where were the flowers????? This year I have been gifted with this……001     In my world this is one huge triumph!!!!!! Maybe there will be 2 blooms next year….I live in hope!

Now, to the other “stuff”……..The last few posts have been about a very talented, creative gal who goes by “Apple Moon Creations”. She challenged herself (last year) to live a life of repurposing, frugality and bartering whenever that was possible. She quit the job she had and successfully closed that challenging chapter of her life. During that year is when I really got to know her and the postal service was the “carrier pigeon”/go-between for a couple of exchanges (prior to the quilt top/batting/backing). One of the first art forms she chose to teach herself was book folding. Check out the wonderful package I received here. One book to keep and one to share……how awesome is that! And it still resides on my Grandma’s treadle machine located in my livngroom……………………….003

Later last year she decided to try a little knitting. Several scarves and cowls resulted from that endeavor. See her post here. I absolutely fell in love with the brown/pink/teal cowl…….and she sent it my way!!!! In return we agreed that if she put together a donation quilt for the military I would quilt it, finish it and send it off for a presentation (which is done through my larger quilt guild). And, thus it is that the story has come to a conclusion. In the coming weeks, this beautiful, filled with love, quilt will find a new home.  020

It will travel together with the accompanying journal that she began but, hopefully, someone will continue the quilt’s story. Time will tell.

 

 

 

 

The “feather swirl” motif is one that I use quite often when the piecing has involved a lot of bias/HST (Half Square Triangle) pieces. It really helps to stabilize and “rein in” any edges that may have been stretched/pulled a tad in the construction process. A tutorial drawing will go up in a couple of days.

Thanks so much for stopping by and spending a few precious moments. Please, come again………the light is always on in the window………………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Wisteria, blue hydrangeas & other stuff……………

  1. witchylin says:

    The little journal is a brilliant idea. it would be lovely to be able to add one to quilts that are made with love and as special gifts. How much the Quilter’s Guild of the British Isles would have liked to have one with each of the very old quilts they display. I make up my own history for those old quilts when I visit the Quilter’s Guild museum. As a member I receive the magazine and the extra little book called Fat Quarter. I know those beautiful old quilts that appear in both would be so much more fascinating with a little written history. I may just have to send them a copy of the picture if that is OK?

  2. KerryCan says:

    My hydrangeas are very funny about blooming, too. It may have something to do with when we prune them–I seem to remember that some want to be pruned in late summer but, if you do that to others, it means they won’t bloom the next year. I need to look this up–if I learn anything valuable, I’ll let you know!

  3. I never had any luck with my endless summer hydrangea. So I finally dug it up and gave it to my neighbor, whom I don’t think had any success either. And I have a “green thumb.” So glad yours is blooming.

  4. gijane279-Liz says:

    Around here the wisteria grows like weeds thankfully because they’re One of my favorite flowers I also love hydrangeas they like acidic soil according to the garden center which in my case doesn’t tell me a whole lot because like you I pretty much have brown thumbs too. I did hear that like roses they like coffee grounds, so I now sprinkle coffee grounds on my roses and hydrangeas they seem to be doing OK Glad to see you friend made such a lovely quilt by repurposing Hugs from Southern California

  5. mtetar says:

    What a Post as well as Blessings. I remembered her postings but stopped seeing them a while now. Glad to hear about her. Continue to be a Blessing because you are, Mtetar

  6. Jackie says:

    Love your Hydrangea bloom (even if it’s only one) I have had mine for 5 -6 years and only had 2 blooms in that entire time. The foliage is beautiful, just no blooms. I’m guessing it needs more sun…or something?

  7. duchick says:

    Thank you for telling us about Apple Moon Creations. I followed her blog and exchanged a few emails with her, but then she disappeared. I’ve wondered what happened to her. I really liked her style and creativity. Now about those hydrangeas…I’ve had an Annabelle Hydrangea for almost 19 years on the east side of the house. It thrives, puts out blooms as big as my head, and shoots out new growth each year that I dig up and plant elsewhere. It’s a sturdy beast and I love it! Each fall, I cut off the best flower heads and put them in a vase. They dry naturally and I have them all year. I also cut the bush down to the size of a basketball each fall. It’s never disappointed me!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Anything special I should be doing to keep it blooming???? It seems to like its West facing spot at the moment!!! Thanks so much for all your great info!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

