Throwback Thursday…with a twist……..

A small trek back a few years to the beginning of this current FMQ quilt stitching obsession of mine. It really took off when I was able to retire (4+ years ago) and begin to devote time daily to furthering my skills and building many special friendships through this blog journal. It became apparent that many of the techniques/skills that I had acquired during the time I had my sewing business (designing and creating bridal and formal wear) could translate well to this “new” art form. Piecing a quilt was ok but doing the quilting is what ‘spoke’ to me and my “artsy” side!

   I quickly discovered that there were some similar “hurdles” that a FMQ’er faced as does a painter or other type of artist…………stitching that first stitch on a quilt is very much the same as the first brush stroke on a blank canvas. The question before me: how to get those “creative juices” flowing! Along came an article by Jenny Bowker in the magazine “Machine Quilting Unlimited”. Light Bulb Moment!!!! (see post here) Here’s a couple more samples……….IMG_3770

IMG_3771

IMG_3769  A few months ago I submitted my “take” on Jenny’s process to the magazine and shortly after heard from the mag’s editor, Kit Robinson, stating that this topic was going to be featured in an upcoming issue and would I consider submitting a photo to be included. Of course!!! So, here’s the result of this contact………….

.IMG_3772

IMG_3774

IMG_3775

I want to add that over the years I have had many magazine subscriptions. Most are satisfactory for quilt “piecers” but, for those who want to take a serious look into FMQ, I would like to highly recommend this magazine. The articles and tutorials are filled with information for everyone, regardless of their skill level. After all……we are all “in process”, hmmmm????

   Thank you all for sharing in my journey. Your advice, hints and sweet encouraging words have benefitted not just myself but others who have been my faithful readers cum friends. Blessings to you all……and hugs always…………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Throwback Thursday…with a twist……..

  1. witchylin says:

    You put it so succinctly when you likened a quilt to a blank canvas just waiting for the first brush stroke. All your years of practice have paid off and now you produce works of art with with each FMQ stitch. Best of all you have made friends and had fun along the way.

  2. Your work is amazing as always. I am so glad to see you get worldwide recognition! I will be on the lookout for that magazine.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I know that Barnes & Noble Books has carried this mag. around me. It’s sometimes hard to find…..that’s why subscriptions are the best way for me. Thanks so much for the kind comment!!!! Kinda weird to see my name in print………..

  3. Rosemaryflower says:

    Wow Doreen!
    First off, you picked amazing fabrics to create these gorgeous motifs. Incredible
    Jeepers, you are famous now!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I bet you would have some great pieces to use! In fact, those “ugly” large design pieces are perfect!!!!! I’m not sure about the “famous” part, but it definitely is fun!!! (smile)

  4. Rhonda says:

    Congrats, that is fabulous!! Your FMQ is inspiring.

    • treadlemusic says:

      And, truly, that is what I hope for. To encourage others to go for it and try FMQ and let their imaginations run wild with ideas!!! Thanks so much for popping in!!!!!

  5. KerryCan says:

    Oh, how cool! I think it’s wonderful that you’re getting noticed for your amazing work–now even more people will see it and be inspired!

  6. Jeanne says:

    Congratulations! I love that you are in the magazine sharing with everyone! Your work is amazing and I’m so glad to be able to follow along on your FMQ journey. I’m on the lookout for the magazine… thinking I need a subscription.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It is really THE best. If you “Like” Meander Publishing (Fb) they run a “2-fer” offer periodically (2 yrs for 1 yr price). They have another publication “Modern Quilting” that’s excellent. Follow the link in my post to the publ.’s site. Thanks so much for coming along with me on this awesome adventure and being a “bloggy friend”!!!! Hugs…………..

  7. Congratulations, Doreen! This is quite exciting to see your work published.

  8. JoAnn says:

    Wow!!!Amazing!!!Wonderful!! Congratulations!!! I always knew your work was magazine worthy.

  9. Laura says:

    I am so happy for you! Another technique on my “to do” list of experimentation… and the list continues to grow! Thanks for the inspiration.

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so very welcome, Laura! This really is an excellent “brain freeze” unblocker!!! Until you actually try it, you can’t imagine how effective this process is at getting the “creative juices” flowing!!! Happy quilting!!!!! Hugs……..

  10. ivoryspring says:

    Didn’t I tell you you are going to be a star?! Congrats!

  11. Vickie Hilliard says:

    Doreen we meet on Friday the 13th at quilt corner and I open up this site to fine we really have a lot in common I to ride a motorcycle beside all the sewing of dress and quilt blocks and now my sweet sixteen> Thanks for showing me your art projects you truly are amazing hope to see you again will keep trying to improve my free hand motion. Vickie

Leave a Reply

