It’s a Friday…..um…..finish………

Actually, this is a finish from last month but was a secret birthday project that was delivered yesterday…so it’s “safe” to share today. It’s a table topper with the name “Nordic Stars” and I’m totally in love with this one!!!!!

 photo - Copy (3)

The pattern is from this awesome book

IMG_3824

IMG_3827

It’s by Heather Mulder Peterson of “Anka’s Treasures”. The book is filled with wonderful patterns of various runners and toppers that will appeal to a wide audience. The construction process went super smoothly…..from these……IMG_3713  to this……………..IMG_3714  and this………IMG_3717 

Yes, I used my DSM for the whole process!!!!!!

IMG_3716IMG_3722IMG_3721

 

 

 

 

 

 

These back shots are always among my favorites! The stippling, again, reminded me how much I love the teeny tiny FMQ stitching. (Glad I found some linens to pursue this on!!!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And some photos of the finish:

 photo

photo - Copy

photo - Copy (4)

The thread is Glide on the top and Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly on the bobbin. The batting is Hobbs Heirloom 80/20, cotton/poly. Even on my domestic, I use the same combo of threads with awesome results!!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to It’s a Friday…..um…..finish………

  1. Beth Ann says:

    Holy mackerel I love this one! Lucky recipient!!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Kathy did like it! Her home has a Scandinavian feel with red/white showing up a lot in her decorating. AND I know how much you love red/white (gray?)!!!!!!! With that exclamation I sure can tell you’ve transitioned more to a water area/coastal feel!!! LOL! Hugs……….

  2. sharechair says:

    Stunning, just stunning!!! You are a MASTER!

  3. duchick says:

    Doreen, not only are you a highly skilled quilter, but you are a wonderfully sweet person! I so enjoyed talking with you and learning some of the tricks of FMQ. Since our visit, I’ve stopped kicking myself and have slowed down to practice this technique. Blessings to you, my friend! Kathy

  4. witchylin says:

    This is really different and I love the clean lines. I am going to look out for the book. Thank you for posting about it. I fancy making it in black, white and red.

  5. Vicki in MN says:

    It turned out really lovely! I have that book too, I love her patterns.

  6. mtetar says:

    You should and awesome job done. Happy Birthday KATHY and enjoy your gift by displaying it so often. Be Blessed because you are, Mtetar

  7. KerryCan says:

    Nice! I like the colors and the overall clean simplicity of this!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think you’ve totally “nailed” the feel of this one!!! Perhaps one of the more outstanding traits of Scandinavian creations/patterns. Thanks so much for popping in!!!! Hugs………

  8. ivoryspring says:

    Definitely nordic! 🙂

  9. Linda says:

    Love this! I thought it was paper pieced until I saw your closeup. Now I want the book! 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      I highly recommend this book! As I said, the directions/measurements are clear, concise and accurate!!! (a combo that’s not always present in patterns/books). The piece went together without any problems….”spot on”!!!!! Thanks so much for your visit and taking a moment to comment!! Hugs comin’ at ya…………………..

Leave a Reply

