Rocky VERTICAL hill climbing…………

In the Black Hills of South Dakota!!! Yup…..no quilting at the moment. Now, let me hasten to add that I am among the very many who become irrationally paralyzed when faced with heights……….like looking over the edge of anything!!!!!! We set off to have an awesome breakfast at our fave spot….Cheyenne Crossing…….and, then, on to the hike. Tom/”DH” was more aware of what was ahead than I, as he had done a Google search of the destination known to only a few as “Community Caves” (located in the lower area of Spearfish Canyon. Please, check out the link provided to get a better “feel” for the sheer vertical-ness of the path we followed. Note…….”path” is a generous term for the route that we took that was covered with a layer of shattered rocks that had come from way above. We had appropriate hiking boots, gloves, sticks and long pants……so off we went. The following photos (and the photos in the link) do NOT show how steep this really was!!!!

011  I was 2/3 of the way up at this point (approx.) and Tom took this photo from well above me. No…..the path is not vanishing into the horizon, it is disappearing straight down (bad perspective!!!).                    013  Almost to the top and the really neat water fall in front of the caves. Tom was standing behind the falls, on a level spot, as I came up the path………please note—there is no sight of any path behind me ‘cuz it’s (almost) straight down!  020  Tom and I……..photo taken by a gal (and her sis) who had come up just behind us. And, yes, the trail continued BUT we decided this was high enough——except that Tom had to go up a bit higher to see what, if anything, was ‘up there’!!!!!!    022  I was a bit(?) ‘put off’ thinking of the descent. We had met a family, who had just made the entire climb, as we were on the early/easy portion of this adventure and they had commented that the climb up was definitely easier than the return. Food for thought and my imagination!!!!! Well, I’m here to tell you that the trek down went beautifully (albeit, very cautiously!) and was much more do-able than the upward portion!!!!

012  A quick ‘shot’ along the ascent. Now, the question……would I do it again??? Nope! Am I glad I did it??? Yup! How would I rate this hike (out of 5….with 1 being totally flat and 5 being completely vertical)……..I would agree with the assessment given in the above link and give it a 4.5!!!!!

 

Back in the car………beautiful drive into Spearfish………007  and a reward for us at the Green Bean Coffee House……..a blended iced Chai Tea. Sorry, no photo!!!! Hehehe.

I’m not sure what tomorrow holds for us but I do know this……..I will sleep very well tonight!!!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Rocky VERTICAL hill climbing…………

  1. Oh my! For me the ascents are relatively easy. Descents can be horrible, depending on what my knees are deciding. No fear, just pain. But either way, still gotta get down — no one will come carry me! Looks awesome and tough. Good for you!

  2. Jackie says:

    Now aren’t you glad you did it? We love to hike and I think I can about imagine the steepness, it is always hard to see dimension in a photo. You accomplished quite a feat….way to go!

  3. CJ says:

    That looks awesome. Totally. Love that area. Thought about retiring there!

  4. witchylin says:

    It was worth every step. Had a look at the links and I can see it would be quite a climb. More a rock climb than a hike. 🙂

  5. Good for you for doing the hike/climb! They are always a challenge but you feel so good once you are back at the car! I also have that “height paralysis” but have done many climbs and seen some gorgeous scenery. Hope you aren’t feeling any soreness today.

  6. Thread crazy says:

    I can just imagine the feeling you had when you first started up…”what on earth am I getting myself into”?? Wow, so glad you decided to do the climb or else we’d never get an opportunity to see that beautiful cliff on top. I believe that’s what I miss most, getting to do those long hikes with hubby….enjoy every minute, and yes, you’ve definitely got a memory to tell the grandchildren about!

  7. Kathryn Mullvain says:

    Doreen…. I may have said “safe travels”, but now I’m adding you to my prayer list!!!  You didn’t tell me about all of these grand adventures. You are afraid of heights and you are on that trail!!!  Not only is it steep but I’m not fond of the look of those loose stones on the path. Congratulations on where you arrived..great sights!!!  Try something a little less incredible…like maybe a fabric store!!!  Love, Kathy From: Treadlemusic To: oakridgecottage@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, September 11, 2015 8:15 PM Subject: [New post] Rocky VERTICAL hill climbing………… #yiv8731049162 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8731049162 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8731049162 a.yiv8731049162primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8731049162 a.yiv8731049162primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8731049162 a.yiv8731049162primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8731049162 a.yiv8731049162primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8731049162 WordPress.com | treadlemusic posted: “In the Black Hills of South Dakota!!! Yup…..no quilting at the moment. Now, let me hasten to add that I am among the very many who become irrationally paralyzed when faced with heights……….like looking over the edge of anything!!!!!! We set off to have an ” | |

  8. Wow! What an amazing climb! Congrats to you on getting there – so rewarding by the looks.

  9. KerryCan says:

    Good for you! A girl cannot live by quilting alone! That looks like a tough trail but you did it! I’m in the camp that thinks coming down is harder than going up. I always have a walking stick with me–can’t tell you what a difference that makes!

    • treadlemusic says:

      My walking stick (made by and gifted to me by a friend!) was an indispensable companion on this trek (along with the excellent hiking boots!). The folks we met (coming down) thought the descent was far worse (VERY hard on the knees and upper legs/hips & ankles) but I thought, for me, the descent was much easier!! Just focused on what was the next step!!!!!! It was way too vertical, though!!!!!!

  10. sharechair says:

    I was in the Black Hills in July! But even if I had known about this hike, I would have regretfully declined. Going UP makes the heart go into overdrive, and going DOWN is pretty rough on the knees. Geez….. I’m getting old! Glad you did it and took such great pictures!

    • treadlemusic says:

      What exactly do you mean by “getting old”!!! I think my legs are still feeling the escapade and if it wouldn’t have been for the prayer I said before coming down I would still be there!!!! LOL LOL LOL LOL!!!!!!! (And I’m sure I’m way older than you!!!!)

  11. You are a braver soul than me.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I seriously doubted my sanity on several occasions during the ascent and even entertained a momentary thought of inflicting hurt on DH IF I survived this!!!! LOL LOL LOL!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

