Prepping for this year’s UffDa Fest demo…………

Always is more involved than I plan….maybe cuz it gets expanded in so many directions. For all my friends who might have a clear(????) moment, or two, this Friday and Saturday (Oct. 2 & 3), there is an opportunity to stroll a fab quilt sale event in Spring Grove,MN, (located in the S.E. corner of the state-just above the Iowa border!). The annual event is called Festival of Quilts (in conjunction with the town festival known as “UffDa Fest”—-it’s a Minnesota ‘thing’, trust me on this one!!!!!) Check the above link for a listing of the guest speaker, line-up of activities (quilt documentation, trunk show, etc……) and, of course, vendors!!!! Here’s a post from last year’s set-up……  and you can see more here, here, here, and here. Yes, that’s me in those last two photos doing my ‘thing’.

On to this year’s demo prep. Vintage pieces and micro-stippling with other background fills will be my focus. I’ve picked up these little pieces and rescued a hexie flower that will work nicely………………

IMG_4205

IMG_4206

IMG_4207

I’m doing some of the stabilizing stitching at home so that the “fun stuff” will be ready to do!!!!!

IMG_4208

IMG_4209 IMG_4210

IMG_4212

Ms Juki is in perfect form for her FMQ “spotlight”! I’ll be using Isacord thread for the top thread and Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly (70 wt) on the bobbin………the finer weight will give me so much more quilting time between bobbin fills!!!!!

The other samples are ready and the traveling case is out. Now, to pull it all together for tomorrow’s set-up. More to come on this event……………

I would love to meet anyone who is able to pop by for a visit!!!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Prepping for this year’s UffDa Fest demo…………

  1. jennyklyon says:

    Sounds like fun-love those festivals!

  2. As always you are doing lovely things Doreen! 🙂 Looking wonderful! Have you stopped by Patsy Thompson’s blog recently? She is doing some fantastic work on a sit down APQS George with rulers…it’s pretty amazing! BTW thank you regarding my weight loss…I did not know that about eating in the evenings so I will be watching those late night meals! That is exactly what I tend to do too because we have so many activities in the evenings with the kids. 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so very welcome, my Friend. The evening ‘thing’ was a revelation for me, also, but did explain how cutting back back on calories but still having something major after 6:00 pm brought about less success than I should have been having!!!!!

  3. Thread crazy says:

    Wishing you a great show; love that white with blue and green flower(s) and anxious to see the results. Some “McTavishing” I presume!! Have a great time and will be anxious to read all about it!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      You know me well!!!!!! That’s exactly what I had planned….some “mini” McTavishing (it’s a small piece!), pebbles……maybe a feather plume, or two(!). LOL!!!!!!!! Future photos for sure………………..

  4. One of these years…but we’re still working on the basement project, trying to wrap that up as we have so much scheduled the next several weekends.

    Enjoy!

  5. Love the fabric in the second pic. Have fun!

  6. KerryCan says:

    I have to say the idea of an Uffda festival tickles me to pieces! Love your vintage demo projects!

  7. witchylin says:

    Once again I wish I loved across the pond. The fabrics you have chosen and the rescued hexi are
    lovely.

Leave a Reply

