(Almost) No Sew Pumpkins…………..

I was cruising through Pinterest recently (I know…..bad, bad, bad) and came across this super cute idea……

CONFESSIONS OF A PLATE ADDICT No-Sew Shirt Pumpkins

You may find complete directions here. Now, if one were to follow her directions, they would truly be “no sew” but my version of the leaves does require a bit of machine sewing!!!! No surprise!!!!!

   First, I needed to find a discard-able shirt………..

Shirt sleeve pumpkin 012

 

And remove a sleeve (actually, I did cut off both…….after doing the 1st pumpkin, I just had to do another!!!!!

Shirt sleeve pumpkin 013

Shirt sleeve pumpkin 014Shirt sleeve pumpkin 015

Following the directions, I cut the twine and bundled everything with a rubber band, stuffed with poly-fill and wha-la…………………….

Shirt sleeve pumpkin 016

Now for the leaves (burlap was used in the original…..I used some felt)……

Shirt sleeve pumpkin 017

This is where my machine comes in……stitch “veins” close to the fold and a 3D effect just happens!!!

Shirt sleeve pumpkin 021

Shirt sleeve pumpkin 022 Shirt sleeve pumpkin 024

A little hot glue to secure………….

Shirt sleeve pumpkin 025

So, to reinforce the process for next time, I did another………………..

Shirt sleeve pumpkin 028

Then…..I just needed  a tie-dyed version!!!!!! I had an old summer “string tank” top which yielded the final pumpkin. They all join the bright orange version I made last year………

Shirt sleeve pumpkin 029

Shirt sleeve pumpkin 030

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to (Almost) No Sew Pumpkins…………..

  1. mtetar says:

    Wow what a Great Idea! Blessings, Mtetar

  2. jonibee says:

    Great Ideas..when presented our creative side takes hold and the outcome is so attractive.

  3. Vicki in MN says:

    Love the orange one in the last photo. I used to make similar ones years ago but used silk leaves. Always more than one way to make something 🙂

  4. JoAnn Lee says:

    Love this Doreen. I am looking in closets tonight for old shirts.

  5. These are cute and so creative. Do you think kids would be able to make these? I’m thinking craft for the Fall Festival at our church next October.

  6. Thread crazy says:

    Oh so cute and great idea. I’ll have to get directions later.

  7. Jenny Kim says:

    What a great idea, it’s a good way to recycle old blankets or clothes

    http://www.pixics.com/blog

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yup! The sleeves I used were from a blouse I’ve been meaning to get rid of for a long time…..so thin it wasn’t good enough to send to a thrift shop!!!!!! Thanks for popping in!!!!! Hugs……..

  8. daphnedawn says:

    These are great to make for fall!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      They’re really fun to create….and, after the 1st one (where I had to work out the “kinks”…LOL!!!) they really went quickly!!!!!

      • daphnedawn says:

        Thanks for sharing this with us. I may try to make some of these this year.

        • treadlemusic says:

          I was a bit surprised that I hadn’t really paid attention/seen this idea before now! The whole idea is quick, easy and I used a blouse that I had thought of just throwing since it had gotten so washed thin!!! Perfect!!!!!! The first one took maybe 20 min…the second took 10 min!!!!!! LOL!!!!! Have fun…………………….

  9. witchylin says:

    Those pumpkins are fun to look at and I am sure to make too. Love the leaf idea. I may just have to make some of those to create an autumn wreath for my door. Thank you for showing us how to make them,

  10. Jackie says:

    oh, these are so cute! A fun FALL craft!

Leave a Reply

