A morning with Judi………………

That’s Judi Madsen of Green Fairy Quilts. I’ve had a copy of her fab book, Quilting Wide Open Space, for quite a while and highly recommend it for all those wonderful shapes that may cause us to ponder…..what am I going to stitch in there??!!!??? Her stitching style/techniques are down-to-earth and clearly described. The workshop I had signed up for, “Free Motion Fantabulous Fillers”, somehow got switched to “Modern MeetsTraditional”. Although somewhat disappointed at first, her relaxed presentation style immediately drew me in.

 IMG_4438

Her samples were amazing but, once she took us through the process, were ideas that are very achievable……with practice, of course! The venue we were at was in Spring Valley,MN, at o2b Quilting and was a large, well-lit room with excellent camera/TV screen visibility of Judi’s demo at the longarm.

IMG_4440

IMG_4441 IMG_4443IMG_4444

Judi’s sis, Amy, came along as her traveling companion and helped with the samples…………………

IMG_4439

Some shots of Judi’s stitching……….

IMG_4445 IMG_4446

IMG_4452

IMG_4453

IMG_4454

From dry erase to the stitching, we got a glimpse of how the motif progresses………………….

IMG_4460

IMG_4458

The camera captured the ‘action’ and enabled the very full room to watch a real “pro” at work!!!!!!

And the obligatory “GF” photo…………

IMG_4457

And, if that wasn’t enough, I had the wonderful opportunity to do a ‘meet-up’ with bloggy friend/follower, Vicki, from Rochester(MN). Her blog,Vicki’s Crafts may be found here. Missed the hoped-for “together” shot, but here’s Vicki with Judi………

IMG_4456

The missed photo ‘op’ will just have to be taken care of at a future meet-up, since distance is not any issue and we both belong to the group that sponsored this workshop!!!!!! Yup!! Small world. I had recently heard about this longarmers’ group, S.E.A.M.S. (South East Area Machine Stitchers) and jumped at the chance to join!!!! The members are really spread out over a pretty large area of Southern Minnesota but the bi-monthly (or so) meetings on Saturday mornings makes it possible to attend.

That’s a ‘wrap’ of my yesterday, now on to some stitching!!!!!! Tomorrow I/we head for Ft.Wayne,IN, and another sweet bloggy meet-up. Stay tuned……………………………

Note:to enlarge a photo, left click on it.

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to A morning with Judi………………

  1. witchylin says:

    So Judi stitches feathers too. LOL. She looks a lovely person as does Vicki. It is always good to meet up with followers and fellow quilters. One day maybe I will get to Wisconsin again and then I wont be so far away.

  2. mtetar says:

    Wonderful Work you all and Judi I had that circular design on my mind for a Tote Bag. Thank you all for sharing. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  3. Thread crazy says:

    Some beautiful stitching for sure…love those squares. I agree that they are achievable w practice. I’m curious what type of marker she was using.

    • treadlemusic says:

      She uses the blue water-soluble markers and, if she doesn’t mark too far ahead, the purple air-erase. She marks her quilts on the frame (we can’t) and will quilt that area, water spritz and leave it dry before advancing the rollers. I’m not a proponent of spritzing as I feel it pushes the marker into the batting only to appear later.

      • Thread crazy says:

        I presume when you speak of the blue water-soluble markers you are talking of the “clover” brand or similar. Guess I need to head to Austin to find one. Haven’t seen the purple air-erase type. Plus I as agree with the spritz in as I’d rather wash the quilt afterwards I n cool water and remove it then.

        • treadlemusic says:

          When Judi spoke of this, it was on client’s quilts that weren’t hers. The air erase markers can be a bit tricky. How long the marks last depends on various factors: humidity, how old the pen is, how heavily the mark is drawn. I’ve had the mark last for a day/24 hrs OR disappear in 10 min. (if it was a tad warm in my sewing area and a fan was on!!!!)!!!!! I believe all the water soluble/erase pens are blue regardless of brand (my experience). Doesn’t your Salado quilt shop carry these????

    • Mary Nelson says:

      She uses a purple disappearing pen and marks the what is in her quilting area. She only marks in blue if she needs registration marks in different areas of the quilt. She also removes the marks with water on a piece of batting, rubbing away the chemicals or spritzes with water when necessary. She then lets the quilt dry completely before advancing the quilt! Not a quick process at all.

  4. Vicki in MN says:

    Whew-so glad the pic I took of you and Judi turned out OK! Thanks for the shout out-enjoyed meeting you too! Some of my pix of her work turned out great and some not so great. It was an awesome day.

  5. Fiona says:

    how lovely… I would love that workshop so I can imagine how much you enjoyed it..
    Hugz

  6. Beth Ann says:

    Oh this looks like an amazing workshop and the samples are amazing. I can’ t wait to see what you come up with after attending this. And great to meet new friends and join new groups, right?

  7. You can see Judi is passionate about her work just by that dazzling smile.

    So happy you could meet another bloggy friend. Safe travels to Indiana.

  8. Judi is wonderful and I too learned a ton from her last year at MQX.

    • treadlemusic says:

      She has so many fresh ideas that are easily transferred to many situations with our own personal touch/interpretations. Love that and a sign of a great instructor!!!!!!! Glad you feel the same…………….

  9. Cathy says:

    Oh my gosh! Lucky you. Wish I had known she was so close. I live in Blooming Prairie and would have loved an opportunity to see her quilt. I used to be a member of SEAMS but haven’t been for a few years. Do they post anywhere the guests they have visiting? Found your
    blog recently and am enjoying your posts. Also enjoyed your pictures from the Spring Grove quilt show. Is that an annual show?

  10. I have her book too! I bought it not knowing it was for long-arm quilters, but I was using some of her designs for the practice piece you inspired me to do.
    I tested a Juki at the International Quilt Festival and loved it!

  11. ruthiequilts says:

    I’m going to take her class at HMQS this year (unless I’m too busy shopping! LOL!) I love her work!

Leave a Reply

