Design Wall Monday………………….

I’m moving along nicely on this one from last Monday. When I got to the  “finished flimsy” stage, I decided that, although I had purchased enough 10” squares and a piece of purple batik for the outside border, a second such patterned quilt was not going to happen. It was at this point that I had a “duh” moment…..ummm….I hadn’t any backing fabric that would work….but now I had it!

IMG_4487

I am in total love with pieced backings!!!!!!. Not a smidge left with this one!!

IMG_4503

Sandwiched, pinned and ready…….for fun!!!! Stay tuned…………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Design Wall Monday………………….

  1. Vicki in MN says:

    I love pieced backs too, I just don’t like taking the time to do them, LOL I don’t know how I missed seeing your flimsy on Monday, it’s beautiful!! Can’t wait to see how you quilt it.

  2. Ramona says:

    Making the backing is my least favorite part of quilting, so I make them as simple as possible. If you could send some of your excitement about the pieced backings my way, that would be great! Yours looks great. Love your quilt, too.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Normally, I try to have the backing AND the binding all prepped/accounted for but this time my change in plans left me short. I’m more put off by not having the binding at the ready when I’ve finished the quilting!!!That’s why I try to totally finish everything before going to the quilting stage…..seems like a much more smooth process…….also, along with the binding, I make the label. This is usually quilted into the finish (but not always….LOL!!!). Pieced backings add to the “reversibility” of the quilt (although, I usually don’t think of my quilts as reversible!). Thanks so much for stopping by….hugs……………

  3. My Aunt Rachel would love you. Her favorite saying: “Waste not, want not.”

  4. Kate says:

    Beautiful quilt and a fun back. It’s nice when you can use up that last little bit.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Truer words were never written!!! I just wish I had followed such “wisdom” years ago before “stash acquisition” took over my space!!!!! LOL!!!! Thanks so much for your visit!!! Hugs…………………

  5. Angela says:

    Pieced backings are such a fun way to tie the front and back together and use up all the extras. It takes extra time, but quilting isn’t about being quick

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so correct!!! Quilting is about immersing yourself in the process and enjoying the “ride”!!!!! I’m so glad you stopped by!!!! Please, come again!!!! Hugs…….

  6. witchylin says:

    Now you will have to make quilts from matching colours in your stash then you can use up that stash. I have only done one pieced backing and I got fed up with it along the way. Did finish it though.

  7. Thread crazy says:

    Wow, what a gorgeous backing…anxious to see the complete back. I too have begun to think more of a pieced backing…but I too have many one-piece backings already purchased. Will be waiting…

  8. Raewyn says:

    I love pieced backings too Doreen, using up all the fabric is a great feat… sometimes after piecing the top though I just don’t have the patience to piece a back as well!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      I totally understand the timing on that. I am usually anxious to get to the quilting, too, but (apparently) hadn’t planned/bought the backing yet so when I started stitching this I just wanted to get it sandwiched. I had planned on making 2 of the same pattern/same fabrics but decided 1 was enough!!!!!! LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

