My number….er…name is up………………

But it’s a good thing! The larger quilt group I belong to has a list of the members who are interested in having the group do a “friendship” quilt for them. The person decides the pattern to be followed and the colors/fabric she would like it to be. The information and/or fabric is passed out and each gal sews it up, signs it and returns the block…usually in a couple months. I have passed on this previously when my name came to the top of the list but this time I got busy. The pattern I chose is “Disappearing 4-Patch”. The “common”/background fabric I chose is a piece from Connecting Threads (color: “Sapling”). It’s reminiscent of the green I remember seeing in heirloom quilts like “Grandmother’s Flower Garden”

. IMG_4517  The prints beneath it are from a couple of old flour sack pieces I had. I made these up as samples.

IMG_4518  Each gal will get a copy of the directions and two 7” squares of the green. There’s a perfect signature spot on one of the skinny green pieces. When the blocks are returned, I will put it together and finish it.

I first did this pattern when Erin (who, at that time had a blog) put out a call for quilt blocks for the Hurricane Sandy victims. Here’s my post from 2012 and Erin’s, with the complete pattern. The four 7” squares, after the “slicing and dicing” becomes a very nice (UNfinished) 12.5” block. Try it, you’ll like it!!!!!!!

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My number….er…name is up………………

  1. witchylin says:

    This will be a real treasure for you Doreen. Disappearing 4 patch is a fun block and always looks good. If the blocks are signed they will be made into a very special quilt of memories. What a great idea.

  2. Vicki in MN says:

    I have done the D9P but not the D4P, will have to put it on the list. How did you press it? I could never get the D9P pressed so they nestled. Well I could if I re-pressed it, but just wondering.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yup…repressing 2 of the skinny center side pieces is necessary when sewing the final 9 pcs together. Really doesn’t slow you down too much, though. The block turns out exactly 12.5″ with a scant 1/4″ used throughout but is easily trimmed to the size of the smallest block w/o compromising the piecing pattern.

  3. Thread crazy says:

    I haven’t done the D4P and have some scraps begging to be used, so will try it. If nothing else a small lap quilt will be good too. So glad you decided to step up and do this block as I know you’ll be so happy with the results. Our group of 8 is small enough to try this but as of yet we’ve mainly concentrated on donation quilts.

    • treadlemusic says:

      This really works for signatures and consistency of dimension for everyone. You may use any size squares of fabrics, you just have to adjust the number of inches either side of the center seam!!!!! Works well with charms, too, but the blocks come out much smaller.

  4. Barbara says:

    I did it in Fall colors, and donated it to Quilts to the Rescue. It was a lot of fun to piece, and it looked beautiful, when it was done.

  5. I saw those first prints and thought, those look like flour sacks. And then I read that they are. When I grew up, some of my clothing was made from flour sacks.

Leave a Reply

